17
Oct
11

Mars and Venus lose weight (or don’t)

I’ve been fascinated by what my co-workers think about losing weight.  I think about it and talk about it too much, which was stressful when I was bigger, but amusing now.  Anyway, see if you can tell the men from the women.

Coworker #1:     (After a barbecue lunch put on my work)  “I was having a hard time deciding whether to eat another sausage, or a brownie.  In the end I had the sausage, but they had switched brands, not as good.  Should have eaten the brownie instead.”  (As for me, I ate two sausages and half a brownie, though no buns, pasta salad, potato salad, or anything but the green salad.  I don’t like their brownies, too much sugar, not enough butter.  I don’t like most sausages, either).

Coworker #2   After being invited to a restaurant that it takes months for a reservation “I can’t go.  I have to go to the gym EVERY DAY after work”  (Two months later, hasn’t started yet)

Coworker #3  “I would really like to lose 10 pounds, and I tried riding my bike for miles and running, and lost a pound.  I tried dieting strictly, lost a pound.  It’s annoying, but I can’t do anymore”.

Coworker #4  “I can’t lose this tummy.  I did a successful cleanse in the past, cut out gluten, dairy, meat, soy.  I’m going to start that soon”  Personally, I think skipping the bag of chips every lunch would work just as well, but not my business.

Coworker #5  “I started gaining weight after working here.  I was doing no exercise, none.  At all.  Now I run on the treadmill, for 15 minutes, and have returned to normal.”

Coworker #6 “I don’t know why I’m gaining weight.  I have never had a belly roll before.  I do not like exercise, don’t want to do it, though I probably should”

Coworker #7  “I don’t understand this goal of losing weight.  Where I come from, it’s a compliment to be called fat.  Personally, I used to be normal weight, now I’m much too thin, and though I’m trying, I don’t gain weight.”

**Not exact words, but close.

9 Responses to “Mars and Venus lose weight (or don’t)”


  1. October 18, 2011 at 5:01 am

    Love it! Now, I’d like to know which sex made each comment. Sometimes, it seems easy to tell, sometimes not.

  2. October 18, 2011 at 5:53 am

    Oooh, I’ll play!
    CW#1 – male?
    CW # 2-4 female, although #4 could be a gay man (every gay man I know uses the word ‘tummy’)
    CW #5 male
    CW #6 female
    CW #7 either gender, this person will never be my friend :)

  3. 3 Dr. J
    October 18, 2011 at 6:53 am

    Where I work, it’s usually the women that talk about weight, not so much the men (unless it’s the women’s weight :-)

  4. October 18, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    I guess that they are all women except 1, 5 and 7? I stay at home right now, but my husband tells me how much the women at his work talk about weight loss!

  5. October 18, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    #1,3,5 are male. I’m by far the fattest of any of these folks, at BMI = 26.2. Not sure if I hear it more because I talk about it (like why I’m not eating something when it’s right there, or why I spend so much time at the gym), so I hear it from the men. I work closely with them, we get to know each other, need something to talk about while eating lunch. I think it’s also because of the high percentage of gay men around. If you think women have it bad with the pressure to be young, thin, beautiful, you don’t want to know the gay community. BF lives in the Castro, I’m quite exposed to that culture these days. It really raises the bar for all men, even heteros, to keep up appearances.

  6. 7 Val
    November 7, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Ha! Didn’t get a chance to enter my suspicions… I have been gently nudging DH in the direction of doing a modified “cleanse”/juice fast but he’s not showing any enthusiasm for it. Looks like I’ll do it alone!

  7. November 8, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    Hilarity. It’s so hard for me to listen to people spout off crap and not say something. But, alas, ’tis nonnamybiznaz. I actually have put myself in a precarious place by demonstrating interest (and a wee bit of self-learned facts) about nutrition and weight-loss, so now when I go out with co-workers they question me on everything they order. I shoulda just kept my big mouth shut.

  8. November 9, 2011 at 4:04 am

    I honestly don’t hear much about weight anymore. Other than a few people that I will actually talk to at work, but it’s not insulting in any way.

    This made me think about the work BBQ that I HAD to attend. I HATE after work functions. I want to go home to be with people I like. It was 110 degrees out. We were shoulder to shoulder and the food was foul. At least I didn’t stuff myself. I did eat a piece of cake, though.


Leave a Reply

Pages

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

