19
Nov
08

Thin is the New Miserable?

Being the insomniac that I am, I’ve been up reading Alternet this morning, came across this article:

http://www.alternet.org/reproductivejustice/107661/thin_is_the_new_miserable/

My mom and her mom must have gone to the same school of bad parenting, aka “how to fuck up your kids”.  I mean, really!  I’ve confronted my mom about this stuff, and she still insists that she did nothing wrong, but I shouldn’t have been fat if I didn’t like to be browbeaten and tortured over it.  There are many “anti-obesity” advocates who still think that denigrating and making chubby people feel bad about themselves is the way to make them embrace whatever your ideas on the issue are, even if they are completely stupid, destined to backfire.  The worst are those who think that people don’t notice that they’re fat, so telling them in the cruelest way possible is the thing to do.  “I’m just concerned about your health”, so let me make you feel really badly, and then you can go binge to try to make yourself feel better.

For example, my mom.  Ugh.  She doesn’t understand why I should need to eat anything but fruits and vegetables.  Uh, protein?  Calcium?  Vitamin B?  Fat is actually necessary, hello?  I think the non-fat craze alone led me to gain 30 pounds.  I just never felt satisfied, would just keep eating.  Riding my ass until I would lose my temper and throw a fit.  To this day, she still sometimes does this.  Hiding food in strange places, such as the dishwasher (not used), her car.  This would be things like potato chips and cookies.  To this day, she tries to say that her diet is completely healthy, but my dad and nephew know better, and call her on it.    She is lucky to have a metabolism that burns it all up, but dad and I don’t.

I also think all this “weight loss obsession” is an excuse to not really live one’s life.  At least it is for me.  I am unemployed and single, having a hard time these days feeling enthusiastic about anything.  At least my weight is dropping, though.   I’m pissed about all the life I’ve lost, and continue to lose, waiting to be thin.

3 Responses to “Thin is the New Miserable?”


  1. December 9, 2008 at 5:13 am

    Thank goodness my Mom didn’t badger me about my weight. I didn’t start gaining until I had had my daughters. Sorry you had to go through that.

  2. 2 walden333
    December 25, 2008 at 2:24 am

    You’d like this if you haven’t seen it already: http://kateharding.net/2007/11/27/the-fantasy-of-being-thin/


Leave a Reply

Pages

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

