21
Nov
08

A day in which I enjoy breaking diet rules

Most of them are stupid, anyway.  Enough to make you crazy if you try to follow them.  We had late dinner (none of this no eating after 7 pm crap for me), 10 pm, stuffed crust spinach and mushroom pizza.  I ate 2 slices and change, past full, but it tasted so good.  And 2 squares of dark chocolate with almonds.  This morning, I was still full.  Being that I had a few hours before I could cross the bridge without rush hour, I got some coffee, and went for a hike.  I paused and considered breakfast, but figured intuitive eating says I don’t have to eat if I’m not hungry, even if all weight losers should eat breakfast.

After a few hour hike, I was hungry, so went to a vegan Ethiopian buffet.  It’s heavy food, but very tasty and nutritious.  I ate 1.5 plates, couldn’t finish the second.  Now, I’m not really too hungry for dinner, still digesting lunch.   I will have a salad, because I’m not sure of the wisdom of just one meal a day, and I need to clear space for my farmer’s market bounty in the morning.  This salad will have blue cheese, pumpkin seeds, full fat oil and vinegar that I make myself, along with mixed greens, carrots, celery, red pepper.    In about an hour, I will go out and have a drink, maybe two.  As a concession, I’ll have grapefruit juice with vodka, not beer.

I feel good about my eating today.  Usually I eat breakfast because I “should”, whether I want to or not.  I would eat dinner because it’s dinnertime.  I’m still full from lunch, and my salad, and am content.  I don’t feel deprived, not craving anything.  Rules are made to be broken.

Addendum:  10 pm, I’m back home, slightly buzzed, and having a breaded chicken puck with habenero jack and a super yummy tomato.  I was hungry before I started drinking, so this is a favor to myself.  In the morning I get up 6:30 to make coffee, go to farmer’s market (via car) 2 hours at the gym, and then get downtown by noon (these last two on bicycle).  Saturdays are hectic.  I wish myself luck in finding time to eat before 2 pm tomorrow.

3 Responses to “A day in which I enjoy breaking diet rules”


  1. November 21, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    The ‘no eating after 7pm’ rule drives me absolutely bonkers. Eat a slice of cheesecake at 6:45 or eat it at 9:00pm and it has the exact same number of calories. What possible difference can it make?

    I’m with you on breaking rules. I figure that since I’m trying to work out a way of eating that I can manage for the rest of my life, it makes sense to go on with my life and work my eating around how I actually live.

  2. November 21, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Thanks, Attrice, for being my first commenter! I don’t understand the logic of that eating early stuff. Too inconvenient, not necessary. I’ve yet to see any real science behind it. I think it’s assumed that food eaten after 7 is just mindless eating in front of the tv? Feh, whatever.

  3. 3 99ppp
    December 4, 2008 at 9:43 am

    We always eat breakfast, as we find it less likely to binge during the day. Also we have a couple of small snacks between meals which serves the same purpose. We didn’t just take someone else’s word for it, it has been tested empirically by each of us.

    I am very skeptical of intuitive eating and believe it is possible to find a middle ground.

    Portion control works, the downside of it is that there is a possibility to get obsessive about it, have a “total control or nothing” philosophy. Extremes either way don’t work long-term, we never deny ourselves any kind of food, but become fully aware of the calorie density of what we eat to nourish ourselves. The cool thing is that portion control can itself become more intuitive and there is less and less of a need to measure.

    We wrote on intuitive eating on our blog:

    http://99ppp.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/fat-acceptance-a-intriguing-idea-gone-wrong/


Leave a Reply

Pages

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

