08
Dec
08

My so-called vacation, finally over!

Palm Springs, a legendary town.  Not my kind of town at all.  I am not a golfer, not a tennis player, don’t even own a bathing suit.   I’m too fat and hairy, though I could wax, and wear a one-piece, for the two days a year that it’s warm enough to go swimming, I just don’t bother.  My parents are tennis players, so I made the journey to spend a few days with them.

What really pisses me off, is that I can’t eat local salmon because the water levels are too low to support wild populations, and I can’t hardly water my garden, and this lame-0 desert town, with it’s 4 inches of rain/year, is covered with grass, pools, fountains, etc.  Just like Las Vegas, but with rich snobby folks, all with gates and fences.

I possibly lost some weight.  I just stepped on the scale, and it reads what it did when I left (175), though I just ate dinner, so it’s likely less.  I wonder if I don’t do body sculpt for a few days, whether my weight drops from muscle atrophying.  Does it happen that fast?  Do I actually have enough to make a difference?  I may get to the gym tomorrow, but it’s more likely that I’ll go to the woods, because I miss trees, moisture, and shade, and I only have a car for three weeks more.  Not that I have anything against cacti, and it wasn’t that warm there.  I got to wear shorts two out of four days, and only in the afternoon.

It seems to me that drinkable water is going to be more valuable than oil soon enough, and then these ridiculous towns in the desert are going to rethink their priorities.

3 Responses to “My so-called vacation, finally over!”


  1. December 9, 2008 at 5:08 am

    Hey there. Thanks for the visit and your wisdom.

    Was just reading through your blogs and agree with your attitude on dieting. I’m like you in that I don’t want to eat unless I’m hungry. All the “experts” say you must eat breakfast and who’s to say when that should be. I get up around 8:00 or 8:30 (I’m retired) and I’m not hungry until 10 or 11 so I don’t force myself to eat before that. My hubby died a couple of years ago so there’s no one here to determine when any of my meals will be. I eat whenever I feel like it. Sometimes I’ll have dinner at 4:00 and sometimes I’ll have it at 9:00. They also say to eat 6 small meals throughout the day to enhance weight loss but I just can’t do that either. So I’ll stick to my way.

    I’ve lost 60+ pounds and have 30+ to go. Right now I’m on a food vacation. I was getting so obsessed with eating the healthy things and counting calories that I was depressed all the time so I’m just trying to maintain right now and will get back in the swing after the new year.

    I’ve also got the dilema of small butt and bigger waist. I’ve lost and gained, lost and gained weight for over 40 years and all the other times my bust was the first to go. Not this time. It finally shrunk a little but the butt seems to the the first this time. And then I have all this floppy skin under my arms that look like bat wings. I’m told by a fellow doctor blogger that at my age (60+) it won’t go away without surgery, so I’ll just have to put up with the bat wings.

    I live in a small community in WV. My county is the largest land wise and it only has 10,000 inhabitants. The county seat has the nearest grocery store and it is small. I can get most things I need there but do hit up Wal-Mart whenever I have to go to the dentist or something and I hate it. I also try to avoid it as much as possible.

    Come back and vist agian when you have time. I’ll add you to my blogroll and check in on you periodically.

  2. December 9, 2008 at 5:15 am

    I just left a really long comment here and it isn’t showing up. Did the computer eat it or are you supposed to do something to make it show up. Let me know and I’ll try again if it is lost forever in syberspace.

  3. December 9, 2008 at 7:06 am

    Sorry about that Deborah, I guess I have to approve commenters the first time. I’m new to this blogging thing, haven’t figured out the settings too well yet.

    It sounds like a beautiful place where you live. Sounds isolated from this city girl’s perspective, where everything and anything I could possibly ever want to buy is available within a 5 minute bike ride, I feel spoiled sometimes. However, it comes with its own problems, such as homelessness, crime, gangs, crappy parking, psychos and addicts, etc.

    Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to be within our control to determine where the weight comes off. I always hear that boobs are first, thighs are last, but for me, the thighs are first, which is making my pants fit strange because they’re tight in the waist, loose in the butt/thighs. Oh well, what can I do? Actually, body sculpt and yoga seem to help with some toning and shaping, and I like having muscles.

    Thanks for your comment, and for reading my blog!


Leave a Reply

Pages

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

