10
Dec
08

My problem with Weight Watchers, and dieting

I think it continues food obsession and bad habits.  It seems that if a person wanted to lose the weight for good, they have to figure how to live in the real world, and to learn to develop good instincts, and then trust them.   I can see if somebody has absolutely NO IDEA what healthy eating, or reasonable portion size is, maybe it could help for a while, but I’m not even sure that WW does that.  I’ve never done it, but judging by the crap that my gym tries to push as diet food, it scares me.  Sickly sweet chocolate flavored bars, non-fat, loaded with sugar and strange chemicals, no thank you!  I tried a bite once, tastes like super-sweet shit.  I’d rather eat a chocolate almond or two, it will make me much happier and I won’t feel like eating more.

I’ve been doing my weight loss for a few months now, learning by trial and error, and what doesn’t work for me is low fat, low-carb, or arbitrary rules.  I eat a lot of low-fat foods, such as vegetables and fruits, beans, whole grains.  Some of them I add fat to, such as cheese or bacon or butter, because a bit of fat and protein will satiate me, and I will stop eating.  In the same vein, if I eat a meal of pizza (preferably whole wheat crust) and beer, I will eat reasonable amounts, and probably won’t be hungry for 8 hours, maybe I’ll skip the next meal, or just have fruit or salad.  I really do try to not drink much beer, preferring wine, or grapefruit juice and vodka, because that is truly empty calories.   And I’ve been losing weight, and I have no wagon to fall off of, and my weight only goes down, never goes up.

And I am finally becoming a normal eater.  If I’m not hungry, I don’t eat.  If I don’t feel like even having a bite of dessert, I don’t.  If I do, I eat a little, and don’t look back.  The worst that will happen is that I won’t lose weight for a few days, which is okay.  I no longer binge, I no longer freak out and eat everything in sight, because I’ve blown it, and wait to start over on Monday.  It’s all okay.  I don’t stress out going to parties, because I am mindful of my eating, and most of my eating is healthy.  And if it’s not, maybe I’ll exercise a bit more, or eat a bit less for a day or two, until my digestive system normalizes.  I follow my hunger, not external guidelines, not somebody else’s idea of what I should be eating, not fake food.

I’m not analyzing everything I eat, counting calories, fat grams, calories burned, or anything else.  After 30+ years of food obsession and dieting, I’m done.  I’m realizing how empty my life is, how much I know about weight loss and dieting and all that, and trying to find new interests, new friends who have normal relationships with food, different things to do.

I enjoy eating, and I realize that I can’t eat everything that I want whenever I want.  But I don’t have to deprive myself of anything, though I may have to moderate the amounts, or frequency, of certain foods.  But I am comfortable and content with my eating, and I don’t go “out of control”, which is not the experience of many whose blogs I’ve been reading lately.  I follow my intuition.  I can and will eat this way the rest of my life.  Can you?

5 Responses to “My problem with Weight Watchers, and dieting”


  1. December 11, 2008 at 8:26 am

    You said it all girl! I started this time with WW and became frantic trying to put the foods I really like into thier flex plan. I became so distraught when I would drop enough to lose a point that I’d panic and over eat. So I quit that and started counting calories. That worked to some degree but now I’m just eating sensibly and working on maintaining and to beat it all I have dropped a pound or two. I guess somewhere along the way I leaned how to develop a new healthy eating lifestyle. So I’m there with ya all the way.

  2. December 11, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    I agree. The problem with low fat, low carb, high protein diets is that they seem to exclude foods for life that just are not realistic. It is about eating whole foods, less processed foods but that doesn’t mean you can enjoy an occassional pizza (okay for me, that is every Friday night!) homemade mac n cheese or maybe even cheesecake every once in a while.

    Food is necessary but its also delicious! Take each day one day at a time.

  3. December 12, 2008 at 10:08 am

    I think we each have to figure out what works for us. I found WW too restrictive for a lifetime but it taught me a lot and I’m glad I have that background to build on. Good luck with the holidays!

  4. 4 Viv
    December 20, 2008 at 12:45 am

    We owe it to ourselves and our families to practice a healthy lifestyle. Our children will be the first generation to have a shorter life expectancy than us. Child obesity is on the up, so if we can introduce a healthy diet and exercise to their daily lives we will be protecting our future generations. Let’s lead by example 🙂

  5. December 26, 2008 at 5:34 am

    WW was/is good for me. I needed to lose over 100 lbs, and I did, and have been keeping it off. But everybody is different. I needed a more structured program, and some people don’t.


Leave a Reply

Pages

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

