16
Dec
08

Rain, rain go away

This weather is tiring.   Worse still, it’s cold.  In the 40s, which may not sound bad for you Northeasterners, but it’s brutal to me.  I just saw on the news that the oranges are getting frost on them, which means another season of sparse, expensive citrus.  I feel bad for the farmers, too bad they don’t benefit from the Farm Bill subsidies.   Only if they’re gazillionaires who grow wheat, corn, or soy.    The rain makes it hard to ride the bike, so I have to walk or not go.  I still have the car for another week or two, but it’s not worth the driving around for 20 minutes trying to park, so I don’t use it.  Disturbingly enough, the places I like to go hiking are getting some snow on their peaks.  Brrrr.

As far as the weight goes, for some reason I’m up three pounds.  That’s two days in a row.  I have been eating salty food, and it seems to be pms time, so I’m not going to stress on it.  However, those amazing truffles that I bought the other day will have to be donated to someone with a better metabolism.  I’ve only eat one, but they call to me, and they must be a few hundred calories each.  Yummy, but not worth it.

I think I may have a job.  I’m still crossing my fingers, hopefully I’ll start working by the end of the year.  Discretionary income would be very nice.   Anyway, time to eat breakfast, so I can walk to the gym and at least do that today.   Please, job, hire me, call me!

2 Responses to “Rain, rain go away”


  1. December 17, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Yep, I think you need to get rid of the truffles. Especially if they are that tempting. I don’t know what got into me today but I picked up a bag of chips at the grocery store. Now I have the durn things in the house and they will talk to me at every opportunity. I’m thinking that I may put them on top of the back of the fridge where I can’t see them and if I just CAN’T do without them then have a handful and throw the rest away. We gotta do what we gotta do.

    • December 18, 2008 at 7:29 am

      I gave them away. Out of sight, out of mind doesn’t really work for me, I know they’re there. And though I can resist, I don’t like to. I need smaller truffles, so I can just eat one a day, but these were huge, too big. Chips I don’t keep around at all. I like them on my veggie burgers, and buy a tiny little snack sized bag. There used to be the $0.50 bags, perfect size, but now they only have the $0.99 bags, like 3x the size. Lame on the chip makers, but I’ll still usually eat the whole bag.


Leave a Reply

Pages

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

