22
Dec
08

Taking a break from the scale

I’m bored with weight loss. I’m tired of thinking about it, tired of working for it, tired of the influence it has in my life. This is a bad week for that stuff anyway. The gym is closed Wednesday and Thursday, maybe there’s a yoga class in the morning, but nothing in the afternoon. I’m still going to hit the gym today and tomorrow, but I think I’m going to take a week off from the scale. Nor am I going to use this psychological vacation to eat with reckless abandon, or really do much differently than usual. I’m just not going to think about, measure or obsess on the number. I am going to see what else there is to do and think about without that distraction. And walk the dog between the rain storms.

3 Responses to “Taking a break from the scale”


  1. December 23, 2008 at 4:19 am

    This is exactly what I’ve been doing for the last month. I’ve taken a vacation from the scales and obsessions. It is a wonderful thing too! I haven’t gone hog wild with eating, just doing the same things I’ve been doing for the past year and a half except, not weighing and measuring everything I put in my mouth. And I haven’t been journaling my food either. I have cheated a couple of times by getting on the scale (about once every 2 weeks) and things are looking good. I’m not losing but I’m not gaining either. This is feeling really good right now and I’m toying with staying this weight and enjoying life a little or getting back on it after the first of the year and trying to lose the last 30 pounds to my ultimate goal. Hmmmm, what to do?

  2. December 23, 2008 at 7:05 am

    I’m planning on doing everythng the same, just no scale. Honestly, it’s more that it’s too cold to get undressed in my place than that I’m sick of worrying about it. I tend to shower in late afternoon after gym, when I’ve already had two meals, and I like to weigh first thing, but I’m not getting nude twice. As for journaling, I thought about it, and tried it for an afternoon, but decided not to bother. I couldn’t count calories, as I cook my own food from scratch, or from foods from the Farmer’s Market, and they have no calorie counts. As long as my weight goes down at it’s pathetic current rate of less than a pound for week, I’m not going to bother. It’s going to rain Christmas Eve day and Christmas day, which will ruin any bike rides or walks I was going to take during my gym being closed, so getting in enough exercise is going to be a challenge. Maybe I’ll have to eat less/better those days. Sigh.

  3. December 28, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Sometimes that’s just what you have to do to keep sane and keep the “peace” with yourself. I don’t blame you.


Leave a Reply

Pages

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

