25
Dec
08

Changing directions

I finally got a job.   No more worry about homelessness or moving or being totally broke.  It will absolutely disrupt my food and exercise habits, being that I’ll have less time for both, and will have to plan carefully to maintain my weight losing lifestyle.  For now, that means I will get some new tupperwares and microwave safe containers so I can easily bring lunch to work, which means I will have to plan to cook and pack up to eat leftovers at work

Which brings up another change, I’m turning over my old car to the dismantlers.  I won’t have one, until I can again afford a used one in a few months.   I don’t need one, but I like to have one, because I am impulsive and I like to go hiking.  It’s nice to take to the Farmer’s Market, especially during water melon season, but I have plenty of carrying capacity on my bicycle, which is much less stressful, traffic-wise.  It’s also nice on days like today, when I am eating lunch across town, maybe 8 miles away, and it’s storming.  I was hoping to bike, just to get in some exercise, but not in windy hail storms, not so fun.  There’s always a [slow, torturous] bus, or two.

So, I’m glad to be joining the subset of people with disposable income, but sad to lose my freedom to eat when/whatever I see fit, and exercise any time of any day.  I can probably find a few pre-made things for a few days a week, and the rest of the time, will have pasta with veggies/cheese, sandwiches, casseroles, whatever I make and bring in.  Plus fruits and veggies.  I used to make the mistake of cooking low-fat, super-vegan, not so tasty health food, and I just couldn’t force myself to eat it.  Now I am more liberal with cheese, eggs, butter, sugar, occasionally even meat, and it’s still healthy, just not so low-fat or veg.   It’s much better than the alternative, which is restaurant food, always more fattening than home-cooked.

Anyway, Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, Happy Kwanza, or whatever you are celebrating, or for me, just the day off.  Damn rain!  Actually, it’s temporarily stopped, time to walk the doggie!

3 Responses to “Changing directions”


  1. 1 run4change
    December 25, 2008 at 9:13 am

    Your right about restaurant food. Also about using a big more fat, etc. A balanced life seems to work best for me. When I get extreme on my food choices I seem to burn out.

    Cool blog and congratulations on getting the job.

    http://run4change.wordpress.com

    • December 25, 2008 at 11:21 am

      Thanks! I’m happy to report that the rain has stopped, the sun came out, and I will be happily riding my bike to dim sum yummy lunch! As they say, if you don’t like the weather, wait an hour.

  2. December 25, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Congrats on the job!! Glad you have thought out a plan for eating at work. Much better than eating out and consuming all that fat they offer. Sorry to hear that you are going to have to get rid of your car. But it will be nice to have something to look forward to purchasing in a few months.

    Happy Holidays to you too.


Leave a Reply

Pages

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

