30
Dec
08

Invisible No More

Almost 2009!   Time for New Years resolutions, what neurotic fun!  I just saw a Valerie Bertinelli Jenny Craig commercial, not as bad as many of the recent diet-nutty commercials on tv these last few weeks.  I’m not making any New Year resolutions, just going to continue on what I’ve been trying to do.  The normal stuff-finish losing the weight, give up ciggies for real this time, be more social, watch less tv, keep my apt clean.

I weighed today for the first time in about a week.  Not much change since last weigh-in, which is good since I had a birthday, with mandatory ice cream and lots of food.  And I’ve been exercising a bit less, nice to know that my weight won’t shoot through the roof if I slack for a week.  Just stable, which is very good.   I’ve lost 22 pounds, have 23 more to go.

I’m starting to attract attention from men, which is flattering, but unsettling.    All of a sudden, I’m losing my comfortable invisibility.   I think I want that, until it happens, and I feel defensive of my time, space, attention, freedom.  Last time I lost all this weight, I had a boyfriend, didn’t have to worry about this stuff.    I got rid of my car yesterday, which actually feels quite liberating.  No more driving in circles for 20 minutes looking for a spot where I won’t have to move it by 8 am!  Hooray!   Last but not least, a friend who I haven’t seen in years had some sort of weight loss surgery, I barely recognized her.  She’s thrilled, but has absorption issues, has to take 8 calcium pills a day, who knows what else will happen.  I have mixed feelings on the surgery, but it seems all her blood relatives are >300 pounds, so genetics is NOT on her side.  That’s quite different than my situation, brought on by bingeing and emotional eating, etc.   I’m glad she’s happy, now she can go hiking with me.

Have a safe and happy New Year, everyone.

2 Responses to “Invisible No More”


  1. 1 Ron
    January 1, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Congrats on the 22 pounds lost. That is about the same as what I have lost so far. It feels good doesn’t it ?

  2. January 3, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I used to be vegan and cooked vegan for my gentleman friend. I still weighed too much so I figured I probably wasn’t a very good vegan. I haven’t been vegan since college but I still weigh too much. Neat blog! Be one of my virtual weight loss buddies?


Leave a Reply

Pages

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

