07
Jan
09

Down 25 pounds? Maybe, maybe not.

I took a week or two off from the scale in late December, figuring that the erratic eating would make it jumpy, so have restarted weighing myself.    At that point I was at 175.  Monday I weighed myself, 178.  A brief WTF moment, but I just ignored it, having enough hassle quitting the cigarettes, plus fighting off the flu.  Yesterday it was at 172, today was at 170.   I do not know why it varies so much.  I’m not sure how quitting coffee or cigarettes would affect this.  One thing that may be happening, not sure whether it’s realistic, is that my muscles are atrophying, since I’ve been too sick to go to the gym since Saturday.  I’ll go tonight, since I’m mostly better, so maybe tomorrow I’ll be back to 172-173, which is probably where I really am.  I hate the damn scale.

On another note, while nuking my leftovers in the lunch room, I overheard a bunch of talk about points, pedometers, etc.  I asked them what happens when they’re done with Weight Watchers, how they keep it off, and they say that in the time to lose the weight, you learn how to eat properly.  Could be, but it still seems like so much work.  This new job is going to be tough, not only in being here 8 hours a day, but all the food that’s around.    The first day I walked into the kitchen, there are two plates on the table, one with fudge and one with mini-scones.  I resigned myself not to eat either (don’t like scones, so that was easy).  Fortunately, my tastes have changed enough that I’m not down with the major sugar rush at 8 am, so didn’t eat the fudge either.  Around 2 in the afternoon, when there were just crumbs left, I ate a fudge crumb.  Yuckily sweet.  If I have managed to kill my sweet tooth, things should be okay from here.  I can ignore the free pepsi, free granola bars, free peanut m&ms, free pretzels, free chocolate chip cookies, etc.  I’m sure I’ll slip sometimes.  I’m going to ignore the 2 potato chips that I ate while washing my dishes.  I have to be careful here, especially since I don’t have the nicotine to charge up my metabolism. 

I’m going to write a post very soon on how I stopped bingeing.  I’m still thinking it over.

8 Responses to “Down 25 pounds? Maybe, maybe not.”


  1. 1 fitbethlin
    January 7, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Hi – found you through JohnIsFit – good job on the willpower at work!! I’m fighting off a nasty cold and having a hard time working up the energy to work out. I am doing a little something here or there, but I haven’t been on a run in a week! Good luck making plans to avoid the temptations and keeping the sweet tooth at bay.

  2. January 7, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Binging is my biggest challenge, though dealing appropriately with the types of food that are freely available at your job would be difficult for me.

  3. 3 myweightylossjourney
    January 7, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    I’m going to need will power tonight. It’s raining, and I need to go for a swim. And the temperature has dropped to half what it was yesterday and the day before. Is it really wise to swim when it’s miserable weather?
    I’m just glad the kiosk is closed when I get there!

  4. January 8, 2009 at 2:50 am

    I base the fundamentals of my weight loss plan around WW because I think it is a well-balanced and healthy approach, but I also know that “relearning” how to eat probably just doesn’t happen. I have gone as long as a year and a half following a plan and then found myself instantly slipping back into my old style of eating. It will never be automatic for me. I need to practice daily vigilance to get anywhere. And I would guess that a number of the goodies around the workplace have been brought there by dieters who want the stuff out of their own homes since the new year has begun! lol

  5. January 8, 2009 at 3:37 am

    look forward to that post….

  6. January 8, 2009 at 8:00 am

    Hi everyone, thanks for reading my blog and commenting!

    Fitbethlin: I successfully fought off the flu, but ended up with a nasty cold, so still haven’t made it to the gym. I have to ride the bike and walk to get around (no car), so today I’ll go for a walk. Fortunately, I’m too sick to taste my food, so I just decide what should be healthy for me and eat that. I lose weight quite quickly with this eating by logic, so I’m not panicking on the low exercise.

    Arlene: Thanks for visiting and reading. I’m starting to see bingeing as a sign of too much restriction. Eating an occasional half a brownie will not cause me to gain or lose weight, but denying it, losing my control and eating three brownies or a sunday will, so that’s why I’ll just eat the damn brownie (or croissant or whatever). I’m really trying, and succeeding, in changing my tastes so that I don’t crave sugar that often. I do like those Peanut M&Ms, maybe I can keep a bag in my desk and eat one or two a day, like I do with my chocolate almonds at home? Could be trouble.

    MyWeightLossJourney: I don’t know whether swimming in bad weather is bad-is it outdoors, or heated pool? It only is warm enough 2-3 days a year where I live to swim, and it’s just not part of my reality anymore. Don’t even own a bathing suit (no bathing suit body here).

    Kathy: That’s kinda what I figured, but maybe it works differently for others. Or maybe people follow points the rest of their lives. Unfortunately, most of the food here at work is here as a perk for the employees. Too bad, the last job I had had fruit delivered, much better than cookies, candy, granola bars, and soda. I’m just going to have to become/remain a person who doesn’t like that stuff, which is true for the most part, these days.

    MizFit: So flattered that you’re awaiting my post! I’m getting to it, it’s one of those that needs to ripen in my mind, and my mind is too foggy with this bloody cold, but soon.

    Thanks everyone. It’s nice to get support, nobody understands this stuff in my physical life

  7. January 8, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Best of luck with all your positive life changes. Trying to change so much all at once seems a bit drastic but at least the physical addictions to coffee and tobacco will subside reasonably quickly.

  8. January 8, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Congrats on your success! I quit smoking cold turkey about 18 years ago. Now I can’t stand to be around smoke! You can do this! I think drinking lots of water really helps with flushing things out so if you haven’t yet, up that water intake!

    Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

