27
Jan
09

Questions, Observations

Some recent thoughts I’ve been considering:

1.  Is it worth it to get a car just so I can get to the gym classes that I like?  It will mean less “lifestyle” exercise-i.e., my 25 minute bike ride and 10 minute walk each way to work, but will have more “official” gym exercise, which is a lot more exercise. 

2.  Can the 100 or 200 calories of potato chips I seem to eat most days (tapering off-I’m getting sick of them) be enough to halt weight loss?  I wouldn’t think so, but with the drop in exercise, maybe that is the limiting factor.

3.  How much fat/calorie absorption can a high fiber diet block?  I was reading recently that they’re considering adding a caloric value to fiber, due to new understandings of its digestion.  I always try to eat high fiber, especially if I’m eating something high in fat, maybe this isn’t helping as much as I’d like. 

4.  If I get a digital scale, as opposed to my old craptastic one, will I have better info, or just make myself more neurotic?

5.  Along the potato chip vein, is quitting my two cups coffee, with a few tablespoons of sugar, enough to balance the potato chips?  I’d like the scale to start moving, not just stare at me within the same 3 pound range.

And some strange side effects to losing weight:

1.  My butt isn’t as comfortable to sit on.

2.  Baggy underwear is neither comfortable (slips up crack), nor attractive (unless you’re into diapers).  I may have to spend some money and buy some interim clothes.  I’ve been delaying, but my pants are baggy, shirts/sweaters are huge enough to look silly.

3.  I only have more than one chin now if I make my face squish into my neck.  I don’t like the way this looks, maybe I shouldn’t do that. 

Obviously, not much happening here.  I’m hitting the gym tonight for cardio/weight combo class.  It’s not preferred, but gym must occur.

9 Responses to “Questions, Observations”


  1. January 28, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    1. I don’t know. The gym is where I go in order to remain sane so it’s kind of non-negotiable for me. Do you really miss the classes or more feel like you *should* want to go to them again?

    2. If you were eating very close to your maintenance level wrt calories, maybe. Otherwise, probably not. Depending on how salty they are, they could be contributing to water retention.

    3. I have no idea. It might be something to ask the author of the ‘small bites’ blog (http://smallbites.wordpress.com ) He knows his stuff.

    4. I like my fancy pants scale with all the bells and whistles and I don’t think it encourages neurotic behavior any more than any other type. Plus it tells me my bone density!! (I’m sure the number is not that accurate, but still cool.)

    5. I don’t know how many calories coffee has, but two tablespoons of sugar is about 90 calories, so I’m guessing that would balance out.

    Also, if you can find a place near you that offers it, I think it’s totally worth it to get your metabolism measured. I finally found a place to do it and it turns out my own calculations were too low. I kept hitting these plateaus because my body was going into ‘starvation mode’ and conserving energy. I actually had to up my caloric intake in order to get back where I wanted to be in terms of losing weight.

    I hear you on the baggy undies. Nothing more annoying than having to reach into your pants because your panties have fallen under your ass.

  2. January 28, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Whoops, small bites is on blogspot, not wordpress. So it’s http://smallbites.blogspot.com

  3. January 28, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    OMG, I am simply not all here today. The actual address is http://smallbitesnutrition.blogspot.com/

  4. January 29, 2009 at 12:43 am

    i hate the gym, and i’d always choose an outside workout vs. an inside workout any day of the week. it’s too easy to hate my life when i’m at the gym, and when you’re outside you *always* have to make it back home, or else you’ve got an epic fail on your hands.

    products with high fiber affect me differently, even if they contain the same or a similar amount. because i’m fond of *very* few vegetables my main sources come from products that label their fibrous content on a package. not the best, but i do what i can (and am willing to).

    i feel you on the 3-pound range, it’s quite a beast. might i suggest using splenda in your coffee instead of sugar? it’s made from sugar and has zero calories, as does coffee i believe, so there you’ve got a nice little savings with no taste-change.

    i’ve found that not unlike potato chips, i can’t seem to give up cheez-its; which is why i buy myself snack-sized bags and try to limit myself to one a day.

    i’ve got the rest of my life to lose those last 15lbs, and frankly a life without cheez-its isn’t worth living.

    who’s with me?

  5. January 29, 2009 at 6:32 am

    The digital scale will be thrown out my door (literally) and I will follow it outside with a baseball bat (think Office Space) when I have lost enough weight to go back to the old school kind. IT DRIVES ME INSANE! I used to weigh two or three times because it would weigh me different each time (AHHHAAAAAAHHHHH!) and that , for me, was not good.

    The fiber thing… really important to get enough but really important to not try to get too much. It is a necessary balance and something we have to eat to stay healthy (in the same category as calcium, vitamin C etc.). I think deliberating over it might cause you to feel a little insane about it in the end.

  6. January 29, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Attrice- you are hardcore! I, unfortunately, am lazy. I think I’m likely to drive myself batshit if I start counting calories (impossible for me the way I cook, anyway), so there’s no way for me to if I’m in my maintenance level. I’m more of the philosophy that if the scale’s not changing, I’ll take an extra 30 minute walk during lunch, and “more greens, less starch” (don’t know where I read that yesterday) kind of eating. And yes, I totally crave my classes at the gym, just can’t get out of work in time to get there, generally.

    P.Potter- I am totally with you. I’d like to lose this next 20 pounds in the next six months, possibly even faster. It may not happen, and unfortunately, my rate seems to be correlated to cigarettes. As for Splenda, I use it when out, should buy some for the house. I’d like to requit coffee, though.

    Losing Waist- I think that’s what I would do, hop on 8 times a day, see what changed. I’m trying not to deliberate too much on fiber or anything else, just trying to eat more healthy, exercise a bit more. I’m a huge produce eater, so I’m probably one of the few Americans who eat enough.

  7. January 29, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    As for your butt losing comfort when you sit, the solution is to do exercises that build up muscle in your butt. I’m not kidding. When I lost weight, I was like a sucker in Las Vegas–lost my ass entirely, and had no padding to sit on. But if you get a firm pad of muscle, sitting is much easier.

  8. February 13, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Re the potato chips – it’s not so much the calories or potato that’s the problem as the trans fat they are probably prepared in. Trans fat contributes to a number of illnesses and has been linked to weight gain. So try making your own chips with an oil you trust – you’ll know what’s going into them.

    BODA weight loss


Leave a Reply

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

