04
Feb
09

Good article on Meal Frequency

Hooray, all my questions answered, in a sciency way!  (Always nice for us biochem types).  Anyway, for this kickass article, he actually went and read the studies, and explains how they, and their spin, have formed our ideas of how frequently dieters should eat.    It makes sense to me, and my experiences with strange eating, and my quest to eat like somebody without food/weight issues.  Anyway, read the article if you’re interested, I’ll just suffice it to say that I’m no longer going to feel bad if I eat a huge meal, and don’t bother eating again for 8-10 hours.    Not that I’m ever going to be one of those people who eats two meals daily at 1 pm and 8 pm, but occasionally it’s easier to eat it first than pack it for later.

http://www.bodyrecomposition.com/research-review/meal-frequency-and-energy-balance-research-review.html

And thanks to Attrice, at http://attrice.wordpress.com/ for turning me on to this site.

4 Responses to “Good article on Meal Frequency”


  1. February 6, 2009 at 10:02 am

    good find. I love articles that manage to neatly destroy muliple diet myths in one fell swoop. So often I’m left with a feeling like that should have been obvious the whole time. I mean surely humans have had to deal without 5-6 small meals per day for the majority of our history so why in the world would we fall apart because of a single skipped meal? That said, i’m one of those people who tend towards bingeing the longer I go without eating so I always have some food on hand.

  2. February 6, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Yeah, I agree with you, mostly. I’ve been pushing it a bit too much, gotta pull back now.

  3. February 8, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Very interesting article! I’m big on eating lots throughout the day, but that’s just what works for me. It’s good to go with whatever fits with our lifestyles as individuals.

  4. February 8, 2009 at 8:20 am

    I find myself slipping into a strange “dieting” mode, trying to be hungry. I’m going to be more careful not to go there, it’s binge danger territory. But sometimes, sporadic eating is necessary, and I’m no longer going to worry about it.


Leave a Reply

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

