08
Feb
09

Yummy like candy

Sweet potatoes!  I used to eat these often, then moved in with a guy who didn’t like them.  I just baked one up in my toaster oven because I still felt like eating after a tiny dinner (but huge lunch).  It ended up being sweet and warm and full of carbs.   I know carbs is a bad word among some these days, but I don’t think this is as fattening as a slice of toast with something (cheese or peanut butter) would have been.  I love vegetables that I can eat with no sauce or butter.  I’m going to eat more of these.

3 Responses to “Yummy like candy”


  1. February 9, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    I adore sweet potatoes! I love slicing them up thin and baking them in the oven on parchment paper with a sprinkle of cumin and black pepper on them. So good and so healthy 🙂

  2. February 15, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Screw the Carb fear! We need them for our body to function properly- physiologically they are one of the six essential nutrients- our body is made to consume them (I think more like a sweet potato- I think the carbs in birthday cake might not be so complimentary)! People get really screwed up on the super-low carb diets that they take past the healthy point. Bring on the brown rice and yams!

    I know that in the dieting disasters I have been a part of the extremes never work. Love your sweet potato because they do a body good… I mean what is the other choice? I know I used to eat a pint of ice cream to get the sweet tooth taken care of and I am now pretty happy with adding some yams to my dinner to feel desert-ish!

    I think it is a great accomplishment to turn to a sweet potato instead of an ED-like choice! Wow. There is my soap box stand for the day! ha!

  3. February 24, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Love the sweet potatoes. Found a good recipe for winter squash/sweet potato soup that is pretty easy to make:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/20/health/nutrition/20recipehealth.html?em

    Freezes well, too.


Leave a Reply

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

