27
Feb
09

What I see in the mirror

The group exercise rooms at my gym have mirrored walls. I know they’re good for looking at form, making sure you’re not arching inappropriately, or bending something that shouldn’t be bent, etc. I look huge in those mirrors. Even with 30 pounds less on me, I look the same. If I look down at my arms or legs, they don’t look that huge, but in the mirror, I’m as fat as ever. As for the mirror at home, sometimes I think I look almost normal (15 pounds to BMI < 25), sometimes I think I look as big as a house. Frustrating, and I don’t understand.

I got Girl Scout cookies, Thin Mints yesterday. Two boxes, I ate two cookies and put them in the freezer. They usually last about 6 months or so. I notice that they still have trans-fats. I am going to complain to them, and then I’m not going to buy their cookies until they change that.

3 Responses to “What I see in the mirror”


  1. March 1, 2009 at 7:54 am

    I’ve been thinking about this entry a lot. I don’t really have any advice or anything, but I do think it can almost be harder when people are reaching their goal weight or their healthier weight (however you want to phrase it) because, even if we intellectually understand that weight loss isn’t going to totally transform us, there’s maybe still an expectation that the difference should be more dramatic or something. Of course, it could also be context – I always think I look different when I’m the only one in the mirror.

    I love and miss thin mints. I haven’t even seen any girl scout cookies for sale in these parts.

  2. March 1, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    I’ve seen similar in grocery stores, maybe Newman brand? Made without trans-fats, I’m sure.

    The evening after I wrote this post, I saw a picture of myself from last summer, and I was much bigger. I was obese, and looked it. Now I’ll have to admit or convince myself that I’m on the big side of average. But getting smaller every week.

  3. March 3, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Julie,

    I think having that mental image align with the one in the reflection can be one of the most challenging things. I wish it was easy. I still have to work at it, and I have been 100 lbs. lighter for 2.5 years now. Some days are better than others. I try to focus on the progress!

    Best of luck to you!


Leave a Reply

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

