06
Mar
09

My loss is another’s gain

I met up with some ex-coworkers last night. Nobody noticed that I lost weight, so I mentioned my 30 pound loss. She said her and her bf had gained it. She said she can’t see my loss, because I’m wearing the same clothes. Which is kinda true. She offered me her old sized 12, but I’m already a 10, which I have none of, so I’ll just wear baggy 12s until I can fit into size 8. She thinks she’s mostly gained because of domestic bliss (shacking up), a 30 minute commute each way,  no exercise other than doggy walks, and crappy eating and drinking. I might also add, even more importantly, that they quit smoking, which is probably the biggest impact. I will have to face this soon, and I’m not looking forward to it. It will likely stop any weight loss in its tracks.

Anyway, I was examining my tummy last night. It used to flop over, now it still sticks out, but it goes down at about 45°, which means there’s no folds there anymore, unless I’m sitting down, and then there’s an overhang.   Another thing I’m wondering about-if I’m size 10, and she’s size 14, can it really be that I’m thinner than her?  She looks less lean, maybe even a bit stocky, but definately not chubby.  I am chubby,  though no longer obese.  I’m getting so confused.   She’s a few inches taller, so maybe that skews sizes?  I’m tired of thinking about this stuff.  Bored, irritated, angry that it takes up so much of my life.  Speaking of life, I’m going to try and develop one-like a real, non-computer type fun life.  Wish me luck!

6 Responses to “My loss is another’s gain”


  1. March 7, 2009 at 2:24 am

    Don’t feel bad. It often takes more than that for people to notice. And hang in there. In the middle of my weight loss, I was put on a drug for my heart that makes you gain weight (how come they never have side effects like making you smart, or giving you big boobs? 😀 But it eventually worked out.

  2. March 7, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I think when we start gaining or losing weight we have difficulty recognizing ourselves in our new body, which is why you might be confused about how you and your friend look. Also, the clothes do make a big difference! It will be very obvious once you’re in clothes that fit well.

  3. 3 Joe
    March 7, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I like your blog as it talks about losing weight. I have probably heard about fad diets like Atkins, South Beach or the Cabbage Soup diet. Many of these diets can’t be sustained without endangering your health. Keep it up.

    Cheers!

  4. March 9, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    After not seeing me for a year and my having lost almost 15kg, my in-laws told me that I hadn’t changed a bit. I rationalise that they just didn’t want to highlight how much weight I previously carried, because others did notice. In any case, different bodies carry weight differently – some people can hide it others can’t. The main thing is that you are succeding. And I bet you can’t wait to go shopping!

  5. March 10, 2009 at 5:49 am

    When I lost 35 lb a few of my friends didn’t notice until they looked at old pics of me – they just didn’t realize that I was overweight before. To me those are great friends!!

    I agree with Sagan re: you vs friend. Sometimes it is hard to look and compared in an unbiased way. Plus it is true that height skews sizes.

    I love tacos – that place you told me about sounds awesome. It’s a shame it isn’t around here!

  6. March 11, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Clothes do make a big difference, and height DEFINITELY skews size and weight. At 5’8″, with a medium frame, my lowest “normal” weight puts me in a US 8 or 9. Any smaller/thinner than that and you start seeing my spine rather prominently. And on the flip side, I look slender in a 10, getting overweight in a 12, and chubby in a 14. But if I were shorter, all those numbers would be smaller. See what I mean?


Leave a Reply

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

