19
Mar
09

Hard lessons learned

This all started with my fretting about quitting smoking. This is generally unpleasant, and I had bad behavior caused by dread previous to quitting-sort of like eating everything in sight because tomorrow starts a diet. And, of course, my erratic emotional state leads to strange eating. I don’t binge anymore, but I will overeat and/or eat badly. Fortunately, except for a few days, I kept exercising, and I seem to account for the calories. If I don’t want to stay at work and eat my healthy food for lunch, instead going to Burmese buffet, I don’t eat much dinner, or just a salad. I guess it all balanced, because this morning when I finally got on the scale, I weighed the same as I did last week. No gain, no loss.

The reality is that smoking ciggies increases metabolism, maybe as much as 10%. This has caused me to unquit before. This time, it was the disappointment of losing my job, but I plan to requit next week.

The truly surprising thing is the effect of quitting coffee on my well being. I went from two mugs a day to 1 mug to a cup of tea, in 3 days. And my mood, followed by my will to live, crashed big-time. I thought it was the ciggs (I think most addictions will make you feel like this-it’s a trick to cause relapse). Anyway, Tuesday night, after I resumed smoking, I made half a cup of coffee so I could function at the gym, and life returned to normal.

So, to sum up, what I have learned:

1. Quitting smoking sucks. The anticipation of quitting can be even worse. Next time I quit spontaneously, not torturing myself for a week beforehand.

2. Quitting coffee smokes. I will taper more slowly, and have more tea.

3. I can eat on a crazy erratic schedule, eat crappy food, and as long as I don’t eat too much, I won’t gain weight.

4. When I do quit, I will have to eat less. Even all the gym I do won’t make up for the drop in metabolism.

7 Responses to “Hard lessons learned”


  1. March 19, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    A lot of people don’t realize that’s why they gain weight when they quit smoking. It’s not that they eat more, it’s that their heart isn’t overpumping, and speeding up your metabolism. I know so many women that will pick weight loss over quitting smoking. Me being one of them, but damn they are just getting too friggin expensive around here, and about to go up AGAIN April 1st! *cries*

    The other night I was so cranky and bitchy, the hubby opened his pack and flung one at me and said “quit yer bitchin”.. LOL

    I can totally relate hun.. omg.. can I relate!

  2. March 21, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I’ve actually heard recently that there’s new studies suggesting smoking doesn’t affect the metabolism enough to really make a difference. Of course, studies are constantly changing so who knows if there’s any “truth” to the research.

    Hang in there!

  3. March 22, 2009 at 6:44 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m reading several of your posts and enjoy your ‘no nonsense’ outlook…sorry about your job loss…we’re in the same boat. It is scary…life is difficult without a regular income. I hope you find work soon.

  4. March 22, 2009 at 10:03 am

    HMMM…. Why do you have to quit coffee? I don’t know if it is a specific reason, or if it is just part of the generalization of getting healthier?? Anyway. I have been thinking about you… When I quit smoking (only after about 2 years total) I gained weight, but it also corresponded with my husband (then boyfriend) moving in… oh and I stopped drinking too. With all of the “quits”, and my husband’s eating habits… it was like a train to obesity-ville. Anyway. It seems like you are going slow. I think focusing on the smoking it best because it is the hardest to quit, and ties in with food stuff. Don’t kick your own ass over it… I think being understanding is the best thing you can do… addictions are addictions are addictions. If you get to down on yourself I think it will make things harder in the end. Nice and easy on yourself! I hope everything is going well this weekend.

    • March 23, 2009 at 4:20 am

      Two reasons to quit coffee, one is sleep issues, if I don’t drink enough I’m too tired to function well, if I drink too much I don’t sleep well (I’m up from 3-5 am, not fun if I have to wake up by 6). The other is that I feel that it is exploitative in that it’s not grown locally, and even the fair trade stuff takes up land that could be used for growing food to grow coffee for pinche Americans to buy for $2/cup, yielding $0.02 for the farmers. I’ll have to be careful with the quitting smoking and the weight, I allow myself one day of eating a little strange but up the exercise a lot. This is why I like to go for these epic 5 hour hikes while quitting-keeps me out of trouble, away from food, smokes, irritations, and it’s a long-assed hike.

  5. March 24, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Yeesh. Have you tried cutting one thing out at a time? Maybe start with cigs, then move on to coffee? I can’t imagine trying to cut everything out together . . . (or did I misread?)


Leave a Reply

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

