29
Mar
09

Missed again

It was the drink with the co-worker, I was surrounded by cigarettes, had to have one.  And unlike food, where I can “screw up” and pick up right where I left off, smoking doesn’t seem to work that way for me.  Bummer.  So now I don’t know whether I should try again, or wait until I visit the parents in May.  I know how bad and wrong it is, but I can’t help thinking that I should wait until I lose this 15 pounds I’m determined to lose, then quit.  I’m quite sure I can maintain my weight, much less confident on my ability to lose.   Very disappointing, indeed.  I may quit again tomorrow, or within a few days, and I’m going to have to be much stricter about alcohol.  Hard to do when I’m trying to start dating someone who wants to go for drinks, but I may have to be determined here.  He likes dogs, too, maybe we can walk the dog instead.  I hate this.

5 Responses to “Missed again”


  1. March 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Maybe you need to look smaller scale, day to day victories? Taking smaller steps and one thing at a time could be a big help.

  2. March 29, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Maybe just let your date know you can’t drink alcohol. Being a diabetic, I’m forced to remind friends and family over and over again that I can’t have alcohol. If it’s not going to part of the lifestyle you want, then it doesn’t have to be. Like you said, maybe pick something else to do besides going out for “drinks”.. and if it has to be drinks, order a diet soda or something. Hopefully they can just respect that decision.

  3. March 29, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I agree, family support is a huge necessity. Thank you for commenting on my page, and I hope you don’t mind, since you liked my NOPE advice, I would love to provide some other tips that helped me quit.

    >Set a date. “Maybe tomorrow, maybe not” doesn’t work. Then again, when I set my date – Sept 1st, It was a Friday night and I had 3 left in my pack… It was either buy a carton like I always did, but then I’d have about 7 extra packs come quit day – not a good idea. Buy a pack, then I would need to buy another one Saturday afternoon, and have about 10 leftovers for Sunday morning, the official Quit day, too tempting, and wasn’t about to throw away almost $3 worth of smokes… So I smoked the three I had left that Friday night, and quit the next morning – a few days early. I had to start my non-smoking life first thing in the morning, although I do know a friend who quit mid-day, a few months after I quit.

    >I stuck “NOPE” in my head, and never went back (actually, this year I have had two occasions where I smoked for a night at parties, but my lung condition in the morning reminds me why I quit… so yucky! Never thought I’d say that!) But for a year straight, I smoked NOT ONE PUFF EVER.

    >I was a nervous wreck – total nightmare – for three days, and probably all week 1, and pretty irritable for a month really. I kept screaming at my new boyfriend of two months (now my husband) that I just neeeeeeeeeeeeded a smoke right now!!! And he was so kind to stay with me and encourage me, and keep reminding me that it’s all in my head, and of course, scream back that I’d be an idiot to start again now after X amount of days and going through all that. The physical withdrawls were pretty bad too. I was in bed pretty much all day on day 2.

    >Nicotene patches – free from the Colorado Quit line – ask around if your state has a program. I called and they gave me helpful tips (like, I quit smoking in the car a week before Quit day – although I cheated on this more than I’d admit – and chewing gum, licorice, hard candy instead… get a fixation for your hands and mouth to replace the smoking fixation – I literally would suck and pretend to smoke red licorice! Hey, don’t laugh – it worked!) Anyway, they sent me free patches, and gave me a schedule how to use them… I didn’t follow it though. I only used the patches for a week – about 8 days, then quit them too. No withdrawls from them AT ALL! It was really just withdrawls from the actual HABIT of smoking. Driving was NOT GOOD because I really could not imagine driving without smoking!!! Learn to avoid things that trigger the habit.

    Anyway – GOOD LUCK!!! Don’t give up! Just plan to quit another day!

  4. March 29, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    PS. I didn’t gain a lb! Not even one!!!

  5. March 30, 2009 at 6:13 am

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. Lifestyle changes of all kinds of really hard and when you add in nicotine’s addictive properties, it’s no wonder that quitting isn’t easy. I remember while I was looking for where the “95% of diets fail” statistic came from that I found a site about smoking cessation programs where they defined a successful program as one that got something like 20% of people to quit for one year. Those numbers are actually worse than most of the actual numbers for weight regain among dieters.

    That’s not to discourage you though. Obviously I believe both weight loss and quitting smoking are very possible, but they’re not easy so don’t get down on yourself if it takes multiple quitting attempts for it to stick for a while.


Leave a Reply

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

