30
Mar
09

Collards and cottage cheese

This was my dinner.  Organic full fat cottage cheese, to which I must add salt.  Steamed collards with a squeeze of lemon.  I may or may not eat a Girl Scout Thin Mint cookie later, if I feel like it.  I’ll likely eat a grapefruit.  Lunch was steamed broccoli with this very yummy spicy tofu omelette looking stuff, from my Farmer’s Market.  Breakfast was buckwheat vanilla pancakes, with wheat germ, walnuts, and maple syrup.  I also ate a few strawberries, a carrot, a kiwi, an orange, and two manderins.   This is my boring attempt at food blogging.  I don’t eat very interestingly.  I’m too unemployed to eat out.  Tomorrow I will eat some fish and asparagus and a sweet potato for dinner.

OK, enough of that.  I’m having to make a big life decision here.  I can stay where I’m currently living, not the best apartment in the world, but it’s in a very fun  happening neighborhood in a great but expensive city.  I can move to a nearby town (may as well be another world) that’s more hippy than hipster, which is okay, but boring and sleepy and too full of folks who don’t realize that their wealth and education is giving them a huge sense of entitlement.   It’s also too New Agey and self-righteous for my tastes.   It saves me about $1000/month, one reason being that I own it, and get the tax break, and another because the whole place fits into my current kitchen.  While many suburbanites and people from wealthier parts of my city are terrified of my current neighborhood, and may only come here to go “slumming”, if at all, the other one  is worse- full of guns, drugs, angry kids with no future in sight.  The current one has some gang and gun problems, but because of cultural reasons that I won’t go into, and demographics is still safer.    They’re both foodie towns.  Should I save money, or stay where I’m comfortable, though maybe not happy?  I think it’s time to update my resume and try to get a job, as unlikely as that is these days.

4 Responses to “Collards and cottage cheese”


  1. March 31, 2009 at 3:57 am

    every place is going to have it’s ups and downs. if i were in that situation, i would live where it was less expensive for a year, and deal with the riff raff and use the extra to do some serious job hunting, or even save to move away from the area period, in case a job opens up in another state or county.

    good luck!!

  2. 2 RA
    March 31, 2009 at 10:40 am

    hey, just started reading your blog, found you through your comment (which, btw, is so true – mother/daughters etc.) Is the place that you would move to good for economic growth, or in other words, will the housing market rise or fall…in case you wanted to move and not buy? I’m more about happiness and comfort, however a grand a month is a LOT of money.

  3. April 1, 2009 at 2:25 am

    thanks so much for your comment yesterday and your honesty!!

    I aspire to be you.
    more organic.

    baby steps huh?

  4. April 2, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Buckwheat vanilla pancakes have got me salivating.

    For me I’m most concerned with being in a place that I really love and am happy. I think that that’s really important in life.


Leave a Reply

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

