05
Apr
09

Out of Danger Zone #1

OK, I’m now nicotine free for 70 hours. Close enough to 72. I’ve gained 3 pounds, though I suspect that’s more pms than any outrageous eating. Yesterday morning was the only outrageous eating. I ate a croissant, a hot dog, a burrito, and ice cream, all within about 4 hours. Then I came home, slept off my food coma, then went for a walk for about an hour and a half before it got dark. That was kind of my version of a binge. The rest of the night, I ate a piece of ww baguette with peanut butter, a grapefruit, a large cup of pink wine, and two manderins. Today I return to normal eating. I go to kickboxing, maybe some weird class called Grace and willPower (though probably not), and then I bike out to park, maybe to see cute ex-coworker, maybe to play board games in a cafe, maybe to see art, maybe eat sushi.

So for today, at least, I have a grip. After about another week, I won’t feel too many physical symptoms anymore (except randomly, or when I breathe it in for prolonged periods). In about a month, life will return to normal, just as a non-smoker.

Now I just gotta get off of this plateau. Truthfully, the scale isn’t very useful when I’m all pmsy, I will stay off for the next week. I’m not so happy that I will have to get a little more disciplined with eating, but that’s life as a non-smoker. My grandpa used to say that there’s absolutely NO reason for a person to be a smoker and overweight, but he certainly was both.

7 Responses to “Out of Danger Zone #1”


  1. April 5, 2009 at 7:21 am

    it’s hard. i know i’ve been crying after seeing my weight on the scale and wondering if the quitting is the reason, and using it as a vice. it’s so discouraging when we see we’ve gained weight, so i totally feel you there! good luck this week!

  2. April 5, 2009 at 8:59 am

    You know what? I am glad you are counting hours right now! Days sometimes seem like too large of an obstacle when you are facing an addiction! It is really about NOW, and I think that an hour at a time is about NOW! I am cheering you on, and I remember quiting smoking myself (six years ago). It was all about the “moments” I used to smoke… like after a meal… those were the hardest. YOU CAN DO IT!

  3. April 5, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    I don’t mean to be critical but as binges go, that was pretty pitiful. 🙂

    Kudos for keeping it in check (despite the pms) and for making it this far…

  4. April 6, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Thanks for the support. As I move through Day 5 nicotine free, I suffer. The pms and withdrawal have a synergistic effect that is making me miserable. I’ve been exercising a ton and eating too much, waiting it out. I’ve learned my lesson about the pms, usually it makes me think life isn’t worth living and why would I quit the smokes when it is all that I have? But this time, I quit anyway, even if it feels like I have nothing and life isn’t worth it. I’ll be so happy to see blood (sorry-TMI, I know). That’s when my mood will change, and that’s when I will bother to get on the scale again.

  5. April 7, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Cheering you on Julie. Your strength is freakin awesome.

  6. April 8, 2009 at 7:42 am

    Hey, Julie. Just checking in after a week away. How are you holding up?


Leave a Reply

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

