14
Apr
09

Other websites I like?

I notice that most blogs have a side list of blogs they like. I was thinking of doing this too. I don’t think anyone has ever asked me one way or another, is it just common practice to add without any special permission? It seems people wouldn’t mind. Can I just add random blogs that I like, no matter how I find them?  Does it ever happen that a person requests their blog to be listed, but you think they’re neurotic or obsessed and don’t want to send traffic there? Does anybody ever request for their blog to be removed?  I’m just wondering about the etiquette of this.

7 Responses to “Other websites I like?”


  1. April 15, 2009 at 3:45 am

    If you like it, feel free to put it on your blogroll (and remove it at will). Lots of people e-mail to let the site owner what they’re doing, usually in hopes of reciprocation. But NEVER add anyone to your blogroll just because they ask you to (some will even offer to pay you). I think a person’s blogroll is a reflection of them and if it’s filled with a bunch of advertising sites, it says a lot about their priorities… just my two cents.

  2. April 15, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I’m with Charlotte, only add them to your blogroll if you want to, rather than if you feel obliged. I think pretty much everyone is flattered if they’re added… I haven’t ever heard of anyone requiring permission.

    Blogrolls are useful because again, like Charlotte noted, they reflect something of that blogger’s personality and what you like!

  3. 3 RA
    April 15, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I’ve added lots of sites over time and have never been asked to remove one. I agree with the rest, add the site if you like it, not because you feel obligated to do so. I do love to see what other people are reading, I find new sites that way!

  4. April 15, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I don’t think you need permission. If you like them add them. I have added a few without asking, but for some reason have been having a problem adding new ones recently. This blogging is tricky. lol

  5. April 16, 2009 at 4:53 am

    In the early internet days, I think it was considered “polite” to ask permission first, but for blogrolls and reference links it’s now more acceptable to link away. I typically haven’t sent a notice to the blog owner, because I haven’t wanted to appear to be asking for reciprocation.

  6. April 16, 2009 at 8:44 am

    I’ve never know a blogger who wasn’t flattered to be added! And I agree with Charlotte, it’s perfectly fine not to add someone to your blogroll even if they ask.

    This reminds me how horribly, horribly behind I am at updating my blogroll. There are so many great blog by really nice people that I keep meaning to add and I never seem to get around to it. Yikes, blogroll guilt!

  7. May 20, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    i always get a little thrill when i see that someone added me to their blog roll. if i don’t have them on my blog roll, then i add them. it’s just plain ole nice. also, that’s how i’ve found a number of blogs that i follow…on other people’s blog rolls. “back to the fridge’ blogger is so funny that i added his blog so that other people could have a good laugh too.


Leave a Reply

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

