15
Apr
09

Potato chips

I like my veggie burgers with potato chips.  It’s an awful habit my sister got me into when we were pre-teen.  Hamburgers are fatty enough for me to do without them, but veggie burgers-not fatty, salty, greasy enough.  I used to be able to buy a 50 cent (I actually am old enough to remember 25 cent) single serving bag of chips.  This would be 150 calories.  They phased that out a few years ago, now I have to buy 2.5 servings, 99 cents, 330 calories.  I now buy Sun Chips instead of Lays, on the pathetic hope that the few extra grams of fiber makes them healthier.  I resent them not making these smaller bags.  Tonight I actually threw some of them out, maybe 1/3 of them?  I resent having to buy food just to throw it out.  It’s not like it sat in the fridge going bad before I got to it.  I can’t have potato chips in the house and not eat them.  That and ice cream.  Probably anything salty and greasy and crunchy would give me problems.  I can always make popcorn, but not so greasy, thus not so attractive an option.   This is the first time ever that I’ve thrown out chips.    I am going to check the natural food store for a 99 cent bag of chips that’s just one serving.  Can it really be that NOBODY makes them?

Today I charley-horsed all through yoga, and teacher said it can be potassium.  Or, more likely, the sodium-potassium balance.  Funny, for some reason I thought citrus had a lot of potassium, but it doesn’t.  I eat a bunch of potassium decent foods, but I will have to be better about this, since I eat some really strong sodium foods.  Middle age is so much less forgiving than youth.

4 Responses to “Potato chips”


  1. April 16, 2009 at 5:08 am

    It’s a conspiracy, I tell you! By the same people who refuse to package corn tortilla chips in single serving bags!

    My fave deli earned my undying loyalty by offering itty-bitty servings of pretzels as a side for their sandwich menu. Not health food, but not killer either. (They also offer carrot sticks as a side item, but carrots just don’t scratch that salty/crunchy itch.)

  2. April 16, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Chips are a hard thing to get away from! Sometimes the saltiness is just exactly what you’re after.

    Good luck at the natural foods store 🙂

  3. April 17, 2009 at 4:12 am

    a great altenative is Pringles. A serving of 15 chips are usually only 150 calories and only 14-15 carbs. it doesn’t spike my blood sugar like regular potato chips do, and at 150 calories and 15 chips, it’s an easier alternative to adding to a sandwich at lunch, dinner or even as a snack. there are SOOOO many flavors, it’s easy to find one that satisfies your salty munchie cravings 🙂

  4. April 17, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Ah, potato chips. I used to eat potato chips, and you might be amazed that I don’t anymore. Okay, once in a blue moon. But once I started eating healthier, I craved them less and less so they also lost their appeal. But I agree with you, why do they make those darn bags so big! Another reason I don’t eat them is I just don’t buy them. Because I know I won’t eat a “serving” — come on! Half the bag will be gone before I know it.

    On another note, wanted to thank you for your comment on my blog (Eat Without Guilt) a few weeks ago. The post was “To Count or Not To Count (calories, that is) – That is The Question.” I just replied to it, sorry I didn’t do it sooner. Boy, I let that one slip by and I don’t know how.

    I appreciate your insight!


Leave a Reply

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

