23
Apr
09

I don’t eat clean

I don’t even try.  I like sugar, salt, fat, empty carbs.  This doesn’t mean I eat these with reckless abandonment, it just means that I am realistic about how much I’m willing to restrict my eating.  It fits my lifestyle better to eat big meals not very often, with snacks if I need them.  Last night, out drinking, I had a bacon cheese burger with fries at 10 pm.  There was no way I was going to gag down anything but coffee this morning, so I packed up a half pb&j with some fruit, english peas, and nuts, and went for a hike for four hours.  I ended up eating the sandwich bits, an apple, and a few peas.  Then I had a Malaysian buffet around 1:30, for lunch.  Dinner is crudites (radishes, carrots, bell pepper, celery), and a glass of half 1%/half chocolate soy milk.  And I’ll probably lose a bit of weight today, maybe even enough to even out yesterday.   I like to overeat sometimes.  I like to eat greasy fried stuff sometimes.  Regular meals aren’t always convenient.  I used to try, but a conversation with a guy I was seeing made me think.  He told me that I didn’t always have to eat as soon as I got hungry, I could just have a fat snack (as I was carrying so much excess).  This weekend, talking to him, he said something about it being more convenient to eat a bunch at once, not have to worry about it for a while.   Maybe neither of us have blood sugar issues because we both exercise so much.  I don’t know.  I just know that this seems to be the way I roll, so I’m going to work with it.

Anyway, found this excellent blog post:

http://refusetoregain.com/my_weblog/2009/04/fat-what-no-one-is-telling-you-challenges-fat-prejudice.html#comments

And here’s a picture of my lunch spot today, not as spectacular as the last, but I love these woods.  They are steep, remote, storm-damaged, and semi-rainforest like in their constant heavy fog.

taken with night settings

taken with night settings

10 Responses to “I don’t eat clean”


  1. April 24, 2009 at 2:09 am

    I don’t eat clean either, but I’m a lot closer to it than I once was. One of the reasons I was finally successful at shedding the unhealthy weight, I think, was that I didn’t try to give up completely the crappy foods I enjoy.

    Hope you have a great weekend! Those woods would be glorious place to spend it!

  2. April 24, 2009 at 3:40 am

    The ‘cleaness’ of my eating seems to be cyclical. Sometimes I’m getting more than the recommended servings of green veggies and fruit. I’m drinking my smoothies and eating quinoa for dinner. Other times I eat sugary, over-processed and fatty foods. I don’t tend to gain weight because I manage my calories no matter what I’m eating.

    I just can’t ever get too attached to rigid eating patterns. My life isn’t conducive to it.

  3. April 24, 2009 at 5:34 am

    I’m realistic about those as well. I work them into my calorie count, but a lot of times I use them as a reward system for myself. Did I do the workouts I planned on doing? Did I eat nutritiously for the week? Ok, yes.. I can work that cheeseburger in, or yes, I can have the huge pc of birthday cake (thanks to my son!) lol

    Some are able to phase these things out of their lives completely, but I love them, and if I don’t have small portions of them weekly, I’m more likely to pig out next time they are made available to me.

  4. April 24, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Love this post. I eat whatever I want to. Like Cammy said a lot better then I used to be, but the key is everything in moderation. Thanks for the honesty …love it. very refreshing.

  5. April 25, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    It’s nice to hear that I’m not the only one. I eat a lot cleaner than I used to, also, with the exception of an almost vegan year in college. Like Attrice, I don’t gain weight when I eat the high starch/fat/salt types of food, because I’m not overeating, but the problem is that I’d actually like to still LOSE weight. I’m going to try to eat a little cleaner, but truthfully, I think the problem is directly related to alcohol consumption, one because it’s caloric, another because it makes me eat when I wouldn’t normally eat.

  6. 6 RA
    April 27, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Wow, we are all so simliar! I try to eat as ‘clean’ as possible, but I just can’t seem to give up my Beers and Burgers night. I should cut down to 1-2 times a month, but lately Friday just seems like a good day to do it. Although, we only ate out 2x this week. A big improvement!

  7. 7 RA
    April 27, 2009 at 8:44 am

    PS- That lunch spot is just as beautiful as the other!

  8. April 29, 2009 at 2:49 am

    You wrote on my blog that I thought there was a right and wrong way to lose weight. I am not sure where I wrote that, and if I did I would be wrong. I do what works for me. Clean eating works for my goals. Trust me, I am realistic. You can live a normal and healthy life not eating clean, millions of people do. For me, clean eating is the only way. I just know how my portion sizes will get. Nice blog by the way.

  9. April 29, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Super pretty!! Being realistic is important. I tend to eat clean BUT I also overeat often, sighs.

  10. April 30, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    I’m right there with you. I eat pretty clean, as long as I stay away from pasta. Because you know, pasta needs CREAM SAUCE. Screw tomato sauce! But my problems also mostly arise with alcohol, because I like it, but it definitely makes me eat more. Suddenly that (second helping of) ice cream seems like the Best! Idea! Ever!

    For obvious reasons, I’m trying to cut back on the alcohol, LOL.


Leave a Reply

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

