30
Apr
09

A Walk With the Dog

Nothing is going on.  I have nothing to post.  I lost another pound, I think it took two weeks this time.  I still haven’t decided if I’m moving or not. So I’ll post some pictures of the walk I took with the lonely old dog who lives upstairs.  She likes the grass here.

Goood place for a nap

Homeless man sleeping

Then we went to the end of the block to check out some “unpermitted” street food.  This is a dead end street, behind a park and some tennis courts.  I think this is just great, cheap food, but unfortunately many come by car, park illegally, block driveways.  Also there are no trash cans.  I carried mine away, threw it out in the city trash.   The parking thing may cause a crackdown, if it pisses off the neighbors.  We’ll see.  I love the underground foodie culture popping up in the ‘hood.

I didn't want to wait for the curry

This takes a while

There was a curry cart (!), creme brulee cart, mini-tart table, and shrimp rolls.  I ended up eating a tiny chocolate creme brulee followed by a shrimp roll.  I have to admit, I had brief thoughts of food poisoning/swine flu, but I have an iron stomach and a immune system of steel.

031

I’ll be sure to make it to kickboxing tomorrow.  Maybe yoga, too, if I can find them in a row.

I ran into two guys in the last two days who I haven’t seen in over a year.  They both said I looked really good, and keep doing whatever I’m doing.  They hadn’t noticed weight per se, just that I looked different.  I no longer look fat to myself, just slightly chubby.  I have a feeling I’m going to have some psychological battle through the next 10 pounds or so, as I head into normal body weight land.  Bring it!

7 Responses to “A Walk With the Dog”


  1. April 30, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    OMG, I LOVE STREET FOOD.

  2. May 1, 2009 at 5:56 am

    street food is like going to the carnival! sounds like you just taste tested, and had a small splurge anyway! it’s good to give ourselves lil treats at times. it’s a shame some of the vendors don’t bring a trash can with them though.

    have fun at kickboxing, you know i love it!! LOL

  3. May 2, 2009 at 6:49 am

    We don’t have have street food anymore. At least not out in the ‘burbs. I am starting to notice more truck farmers selling from the side of the road. Fresh veggies, yum!

    You’re right, it’s a bit of an adjustment to ‘normal weight’ land, but you’ll get there. It’s worth any struggle, that’s for sure.

  4. May 2, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I really love your blog, and your photographic style!

    And sometimes the psychological change is half the battle…! 🙂

  5. May 3, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Pics are great. We don’t have street food. Isn’t that great and such a motivation when other people see and remark on your hard work. Hope you made it to your classes:)

    • May 3, 2009 at 10:06 am

      I took a long walk in the rain, had a drink or two, ate too much. Yesterday I went 2 hours, today I slept too late. It’s hard in the rain, as parking is impossible, thus I’m on bike. I won’t eat much today. BTW, the other illegal street food is these bacon wrapped hot-dogs, gross but tempting as a concept, but they smell like cheap nasty hotdogs/bacon. I’d have to be VERY drunk, but even so they just don’t smell appealing.

  6. May 19, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love your style – it’s raw and honest. And seriously, this blog entry makes me pissed there isn’t food like this on carts where I live. Maybe that’s a good thing. I’d put a leash on my cat just for an excuse to go to the curry cart.


Leave a Reply

Pages

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

