04
May
09

More weight loss side effects

I’ve noticed another unexpected side effect of weight loss.  This one, unlike my butt being less comfortable for sitting, is a positive.  As I’ve been getting ready to move, I’m purging my belongings.  I gave away most of my weight loss and compulsive eating books, some cookbooks, a few fiction, all the clothes too big or too ugly.  The surprise came with shoes.  As I’ve mentioned before, most of my belongings come from thrift stores, garage sales, flea markets, and some stuff I get just because I like and it’s cheap, even if I can’t try things on.  Many clothes I buy in hopes that they’ll fit someday.  This is why I have to donate so much to charity-sometimes, even when they do start to fit, they still look horrible.  I don’t do this anymore, too broke to buy clothes that won’t fit, just to get rid of them.  So, a few pairs of sandals and hiking boots and casual shoes that I had in the charity pile I tried on again.  They fit.  I lost weight in my bloody feet!    Thinking about it now, a big duh to me, but it never occurred to me that my feet wouldn’t be as wide.  Woo-hoo!  I have the biggest problem with shoes fitting comfortably.  They still might not be comfortable, but at least I’ll have more of them to choose from.

I’m too sore for the gym.  I’ll have to wait until tomorrow.  I’m going for a few mile walk to do errands, I hurt.

7 Responses to “More weight loss side effects”


  1. May 5, 2009 at 5:22 am

    weight loss is a blessing and a burden sometimes. i know when i lost weight, my shoes felt so stretched out, and my work clothes were too big. i finally broke down bought all new stuff. two years later, here i am, gained 20 lbs, and i have about 2 prs of work pants and 1 pr of jeans that fit. the shoes (thankfully) are the same, but my budget doesn’t leave much for shopping. most of that goes to my son.

  2. May 5, 2009 at 7:40 am

    I have a theory. With the normal aging process, we gain fat where we don’t want it, and lose fat where we do want it. Like in our feet and hands where there is less fat for padding. Shoe inserts are big business!

  3. May 5, 2009 at 8:26 am

    How funny. Nothing to add of any substance, really; I just hadn’t thought about weight loss in feet. Makes sense, but it never would have occurred to me.

  4. May 5, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    It didn’t take me long to move to the thrift store for clothing as I was losing weight. After I had to give away the first set of downsized clothing a month after I bought it, I learned. 🙂

    Good for YOU for not hanging on to what no longer works. For whatever reason.

  5. May 6, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Funny, I never would have thought about feet either!

    That’s great that you’re noticing all these new changes.

    And good call on the walking, I think that’s the best way to deal with gym soreness–at least for me. Moving around enough to ease the pain but not making it worse.

  6. May 6, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Yay.. getting rid of old big clothes is great even if you can’t afford new littler ones at least they are littler and showing how amazing you are doing.

  7. May 11, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I love the title of your blog! I should name mine, “Get confident, stupid!”

    Anyways, congrats on your success so far and thanks for your comment on my blog! Im glad to know that you havent changed for the worst, and that through it all, you still shave :)~


Leave a Reply

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

