20
May
09

Small scale victory

The scale dropped below 160 today.  That makes my BMI 26.7.  I’ve finally figured out how this scale stuff works for me.  It bounces up and down, is up a pound or four if I eat anything with MSG, is down if I eat a small dinner the night before.  Then pms it’s up a few pounds, and after my period, it drops 4-5, and stays there until next MSG or PMS.  So, realistically,  I should just weigh once a month, because all the rest is just noise.  I’ll probably continue to weigh every day, since it’s no effort.   I’m continually having to toss clothes that are too big, which isn’t leaving me with much.  My size 10s are starting to get baggy.

I love comments on my blog!  I like writing them, too, but for many blogs, especially those on blogger that require preview followed by a scrambled word, those comments always vanish.  I must have a strange security setting that just won’t allow me to go there.   So if that’s the settings on your blog, I may still be reading you, I just can’t comment, though sometimes I might really want to.

**OK, had to enable cookies for something unrelated earlier, now I can post comments.  I’m still erasing them all afterwards.

6 Responses to “Small scale victory”


  1. May 20, 2009 at 9:33 am

    I know! Those rows of scrambled letters drive me insane. I read once that the best course of action is to allow all comments, unless you get more spam than actual comments. Why risk annoying your readers? I get like 1 spam message a day, which is no problem to just manually delete…

    Well done on the loss! My weight also fluctuates wildly from day to day…

  2. May 20, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Great attitude and congrats on the 10s getting too small!

  3. May 21, 2009 at 5:02 am

    I remember when I dropped below 160 – I was surprised, I wasn’t expecting it at all!
    Congrats, and I am very happy you have found a route to losing weight that works for you – I don’t think our two ways are as different as they seem at first.
    Either way, I’ll be reading more, good luck!
    -M

  4. May 21, 2009 at 5:07 am

    I just found your blog, and I think it was through MamaBearjune, but it could have been through Hanlie because I read both of their blogs! I love that you hate nonfat yogurt and HFCS. And I also have a very strong reaction to MSG. I’ll be back to read lots more!!

  5. May 21, 2009 at 6:16 am

    kudos on the milestone on the scale! i’ve yet to see a number under 160 in probably 15+ yrs, so I’m definitely looking forward to seeing it as well. good luck!!!

  6. May 22, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Congrats Julie! Weight loss is a battle for sure. I lost weight when I was younger but the wrong way & I am still perfecting it all since my body keeps changing every decade & every year within that decade & now with this perimenopause that goes on for years, every few months!!! Anyway, I want to say I am just like you with the scale. I am one to weigh myself every day first thing in the morn. For some, this does not work but for me it does along with how my clothes fit. But now in this stage of my life when the bod “attacks” you in multiple ways even after we have put up with that crappy monthly for too many years to count & still counting, I need to keep check of that scale!

    Just out of curiosity sometimes, I will weigh myself, have a cup of coffee & weigh again & I can put on 1-1.5 pounds just from that! I also know that I usually weight 3 pounds heavier at night than first thing in the morn & like you, great variations due to the hormone cycle. SO, I know this & just talk myself thru those times when I know the scale is up due to things out of my control.

    Hang in there!


Leave a Reply

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

