24
May
09

“So, why aren’t you fat anymore?”

He asked as he pulled me onto the bench next to him.  “You know, from one fatty to another”.  This, from one of my landlord’s friends, who I bump into once every year or two, and have known about 15 years.  I wasn’t that surprised, as he had been looking at me with an inquisitive look all evening, but had to chuckle at the his direct, no beating around the bush approach.

“I exercise a lot and don’t overeat” (as I sat there overeating-blame the alcohol) .  I went to that party fully expecting to overeat, did the gym in the morning, with plans for a good hike on Monday, mild exercise on Sunday.  Hangovers make me tired and lazy and not in the mood to bounce around at the gym to loud music.  Go figure.

“Yeah, I exercise, but I eat way too much”

“Well, you can’t do that, unless you’re Michael Phelps or someone who burns so much that he can eat whatever he wants”

“I just don’t have the discipline”.

“Yeah, you’ve got to really want it.  If it doesn’t bother you, then don’t worry about it”

“Yeah, that’s what I figure, it doesn’t really matter that much”

Personally, I think if a person exercises a decent amount, they’re ahead of the game anyway.  Who would I be to judge, as a cigarette and pot smoker?  (Disclaimer-with the exception of last night, I have mostly given that the weed-a whole ‘nother story, not relevant to this blog).  What I should do is quit drinking instead, as that always causes me to eat way too much crap-last night it was potato chips and brownie bites.   Two foods I NEVER keep in the house.   But I knew going in that I would eat too much, and I’m okay with it.

But honestly, I watch how people eat, especially women who don’t seem to have food/weight issues.  This is how I learned to eat “normally”, by watching normal people eat.  And they get drunk, or eat funny mushrooms, or whatever, and stuff themselves, too.  (And people are amused, if they notice at all, unless the person is overweight, in which case they judge).  I imagine they don’t do it on a regular basis, but parties are just an inspiration to eat a lot.  I see no need to beat up on myself about it, instead I will eat less today.  This doesn’t mean I’m going to starve myself, it just means that I’m going to wait until I get hungry till I eat again.  That’ll probably be mid-afternoon, judging by how not-hungry I am right now.  So, it balances.  I think this seems normal and appropriate, I’m not going to force myself to eat, not going to force myself to not eat, not going to force myself to eat only salad, I’m just going to wait to see if/when I get hungry, and eat what my body wants.  Realistically, it probably will be veggies, I really don’t like heavy food when I’m hungover.

Happy Memorial Day all, hope it’s a warmer where you live.  It is a chilly grey weekend here.

8 Responses to ““So, why aren’t you fat anymore?””


  1. May 24, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Glad to have found your blog. I’m trying to read as many bloggers as possible who have gotten over the whole diet thing and are trying to eat like human beings. This is where I find inspiration!

    P.S. The weather is beautiful here…but I’m in Canada, so it’s not a long weekend. Sniff

  2. May 24, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Hope the weather is good enough for your hike tomorrow. DH swears a banana is the best thing for a hangover.

  3. May 24, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Hope you are having a great weekend…keep positive. Vitamin B6 my husband says works wonders to prevent a hangover.

  4. May 25, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Yep, I think overeating at parties is really common for people of all sizes.

    The fact that you planned for it puts you WAY ahead of most people. I don’t think there’s anything unhealthy about enjoying special occasions… it’s the way we as a culture treat every meal like it’s a special occasion that gets us in trouble.

  5. May 25, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    “And they get drunk, or eat funny mushrooms, or whatever, and stuff themselves, too. (And people are amused, if they notice at all, unless the person is overweight, in which case they judge).” That’s the sad truth of it, isn’t it? Hate that.

    I think you’re absolutely right, though- all of us overeat from time to time, and that’s normal. It’s just when we do it on a regular basis that we should think about re-forming our habits.

  6. May 26, 2009 at 11:27 am

    From the fit people I know, they “under eat” to balance the times they “over eat”. Staying active is the best fat insurance 🙂 Sounds like you are moving in a good direction!

  7. May 29, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    sounds like you’re handling things well — good healthy attitude. i recently stopped drinking, for a bunch of reasons, but i definetely ate a lot more and mindlessly.

    you are so right — no one cares if thin people it a lot — it’s sort of cute. but when i was heavier, people always said patronizingly, “are you sure you want to eat that?” or “you don’t really need that, do you.”

    i wonder why others think your weight is their business?

  8. May 30, 2009 at 9:34 am

    I hear your frustration, but I know these “blue” feelings come in waves. Trust me. A job or a new friend or a new significant other will come into your life and presto chango. Just be open to it. I think some of my friends get tired of my “food” issues, but when I get that feeling, I don’t share those issues with them. I mean, I get tired of some of my friends men issues and job issues, etc. It’s ok. Since you’re not working, why don’t you foster an animal for a while. They are so loving and give you afffection willingly….well, dogs anyway. So, good luck and I’ll check back.


Leave a Reply

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

