12
Jun
09

The dog is thin; does that mean she’s healthy?

No, not really.  She’s almost 16, has always been lanky.    After her recent bout with giardia, and some new kidney issues, she is gaunt.  I am officially allowed to feed her anything she will eat, with the exception of chocolate and cigarette butts.  She doesn’t seem to care for dog food anymore, and I think cat food has too much protein.  The landlord, who’s dog she is, feeds her boiled chicken and white rice, supposedly great for dogs.  I feed her restaurant leftovers-mine, and others, things from my fridge I don’t like, an occasional slice of bread.

The annoying thing is reactions from others.   She gets fed, nobody can force her to eat dog food or anything else.   And then, from the other side, are people who think she is fit and healthy.  Well, no, she’s thin.  I guess people just like to comment about weight, and if it’s not acceptable to do to people, just do it to their pets!  No, she’s not starving, she’s not healthy, she’s very very old.  Anyway, this rant has nothing to do with anything, it’s just ironic that we can’t put any weight on her.

In other news, nothing going on with me.  I’m starting to force myself out to interact with people, which is a drag, but good for me.  I did no gym all week until last night, because my thighs were so sore from the class over the weekend.  My mood crashed all to hell, and I finally convinced myself to go last night.  This was only because a friend was buying me pizza for dinner, and I figured I better work some of that off in advance.  I feel much better today, though my life still sucks, no job in sight.  I have a bit of a date this afternoon, sort of.  I don’t have high hopes.

I went on a hike on Monday, even though I couldn’t walk normally.  A bad idea, really, but I drove an hour to get there and had nothing better to do, so I continued.  Here are some pictures, I’m glad I got out there.

armand 003 armand 009

2 Responses to “The dog is thin; does that mean she’s healthy?”


  1. June 12, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Well, that thin dog thing. Same with people. Just because a person is thin, does not mean they are healthy OR that their body fat is low. Lots of thin unhealthy people with higher body fat!

    Sounds like a tough week for you. Is the depression more from no job or do you think the effects of trying to stop smoking? I know my hormones are whacked so it is an effort for me at times not to take it out on others… my poor hubby gets the brunt of it! I need to find work as well. Not doing much about it though. I spent too many years in Corporate crap & now I don’t want to kiss anyone’s arse!

    I love the pics though! Glad you at least got out & enjoyed some of that… beautiful!

    Hang in there!

  2. 2 RA
    June 12, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Again, another beautiful photo. Poor pup, it’s so hard when they’re older or ill, I say let them eat whatever they want. 🙂 How was the “date”? I hope things start to look up for you in the job arena.


Leave a Reply

Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

