13
Jun
09

From the Farmer’s Market

I get there by 7 am, a hassle unto itself, but the food is worth it.

  • Few pounds cherries
  • Four apples
  • 3 each peaches, nectarines, plums, nectarines
  • Dino kale
  • salad greens
  • carrots
  • English peas
  • Sugar peas (mistake, but they’ll get eaten)
  • green beans (I hate these cooked.  Actually I dislike most cooked veggies, except mushrooms and kale/collards/mustard/etc.)
  • very vanilla pancake mix (yummy white flour-I mix with whole grain pancake mix 50:50)
  • strawberries
  • cucumbers

This all costs about $40.

Leftover still from last week:

  • celery
  • radishes
  • grapefruit (I’ll eat one a day when I remember)
  • bell peppers
  • dates
  • smoked hot pepper cheddar cheese
  • whole wheat pitas to make pizza

I wanted a croissant, but the lines were too long, as they have been for the last few weeks.  I used to eat one every week, now it’s a few a year.  Problem is I have to be at gym by 9, and I need more coffee and breakfast first.  When I have time or patience to stand in line for 10 minutes for it, I’ll get my croissant.  Until then, just drooling for it.   Surprisingly, I manage to eat most of this food over the course of a week (or two, thanks to my miracle tupperwares, called Lock-n-lock).   And of course, I always reuse my plastic shopping bags until they’re nasty and go to the doggy poop bag pile.

I think my bad mood this last week was a result of pms, being too sore for exercise, and lack of Vit. D.  It’s been really gray here lately, but today is sunny, and in the wind-free backyard, warm enough for short sleeves.  I’m still not happy, but managed to clean my apt for an hour or two, now resting for an hour before I go out and force myself to be amongst people, even if I don’t talk to them.    I’ll act as if…

Happy weekend, everyone

7 Responses to “From the Farmer’s Market”


  1. June 13, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I hope you have a better week this time! I’m always envious about the farmer’s markets… we don’t have them here!

  2. June 14, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I’m so jealous. When I lived in Atlanta, I did most of my grocery shopping at farmer’s markets and I took it for granted. These days, I’m happy when they have fruits and veggies that look even remotely fresh.

    Now I want some apples.

  3. June 14, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    We have some farmer’s markets around us but they are pathetic. I am jealous over your produce.

  4. June 14, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Oh, I LOVE our farmers’ markets. Although this weekend I got all my fruit at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s: I had morning appointments both days, and couldn’t make it to the farmers’ markets. *sigh*

    Thanks again for the advice about the fruit; I bought a BUNCH of it this weekend, so here’s hoping. 🙂

    • June 14, 2009 at 9:29 pm

      Trader Joe’s has some good cheese and frozen stuff, I’ve always thought their produce was kinda crappy. I think it’s because they have to buy big enough batches to hit all of their stores, so it’s grown for long shelf life. I think WF is similar, for most part. If it’s just mediocre, don’t give up, just get the good stuff when you can from your market. I’m glad you like my suggestion, I think most people aren’t even willing to try it for their sugar fix. I don’t think ODing on fruit is the best thing in the world, but it’s better than most alternatives, and I can live with it. Except cherries, they must be too acidic, I just feel like ass if I eat too many.

  5. 6 johnisfit
    June 15, 2009 at 6:26 am

    Our local farmer’s market starts up next week, looking forward to spending more time there this year.

  6. June 16, 2009 at 7:50 am

    The farmers market sounds glorious. Are you feeling better? *hugs*.


Leave a Reply

Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

