22
Jun
09

New tricks, new tries

I just thought of a new strategy to not overeat when I drink.  I’m going to eat first.  Tonight I am making beet soup, which has turned the cutting boards, my hands, soon my whole digestive tract, hot pink.  How can you not like that?  It’s also got the greens, an onion, purple potatoes, wild rice, garlic.  Soy sauce, spices, and just a bit of sugar.  It came to my attention recently that I should eat cooked vegetables, so this is it for today.  I may also have a veggie tamale, if the tamale lady is around at the bar later.

I absolutely have to change my life.  I can’t stand it anymore.  Nothing is right, and I’m not getting any younger.  I wish I had an easy path to do this, but I seem to rebel against everything I try.  I am comparing my attempts to quit smoking to how I quit overeating, and I was much kinder to myself about food indiscretions.  I punish myself both ways with the cigarettes-I suck if I don’t quit, and as soon as I do quit I will make myself do all these scary horrible things.  I need to tweak my psychology, and fast.   It’s not easy.

14 Responses to “New tricks, new tries”


  1. June 22, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I tend to eat large amounts if I start drinking before I eat… I cannot eat little smokies (gross little sausages), or green olives anymore because of this.

    If you feel the need to change… I wouldn’t rush it. Planning. Little steps. Gradual consistency. You know these things.

  2. June 23, 2009 at 2:32 am

    It is never easy! Love the idea of beet soup… I’m going to look for a recipe!

  3. 3 Lynne
    June 23, 2009 at 5:05 am

    Champix. I smoked for thirty years. Two months gone. I miss it but it’s all in my head.

  4. June 23, 2009 at 6:16 am

    good deal! the more we recommit ourselves to our goals, the closer we are than just giving up.

  5. June 23, 2009 at 6:28 am

    It’s probably the hardest thing you’ll ever do, and I admire you so much for continuing the fight.

  6. June 23, 2009 at 8:15 am

    I punish myself both ways with the cigarettes-I suck if I don’t quit, and as soon as I do quit I will make myself do all these scary horrible things.

    Can you psych yourself out the other way? Decide that when you quit smoking, you won’t change ANYTHING else? Sometimes I make “decisions” like that, knowing that eventually I’ll make other changes, but the idea that I’m not allowed to takes off a huge amount of pressure. Sometimes low expectations pay off, LOL.

  7. June 23, 2009 at 8:15 am

    It’s adjusting our frame of thought that get us through these times- good on you for trying different things to figure out a way that works for you. How was the beet soup? It sounds tasty.

  8. June 23, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Hang in there. All this life stuff is hard! Fear of failure, others expectations & more! Take it a baby step at a time & just keep moving forward. If you step back a day then just go forward the next. Keep trying! You will find what works! Try to surround yourself with positive people & those that agree with & want to help you thru this. People that put you down or do not support your goals are just holding you back for their own selfish reasons. You need to stay away from that.
    Good luck & keep plugging at it!

  9. June 23, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    I totally understand your struggles. I have never smoked, but I have had issues with overeating, depression, anxiety, and gambling. For things to change in life you need to change your mindset and how you deal with things. It takes commitment and courage. I wish you all the success in the world. I am here for you if you need it.
    Emett

  10. June 23, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    The beet soup came out okay, I used some chicken broth a friend made, maybe it’s not as good. And usually I use barley, not wild rice. But a bit of hot sauce fixes everything, and it’s too expensive and nutritious to toss. I’m making myself eat a cup of it before I have a grapefruit, which is what I really want.

    These are some good suggestions and well wishes, and I will try to use them, but I think this smoking thing is going to take brute force and willpower. At least the physical addiction component, for a few days. There’s just too many excuses to wait another day, until something is good, etc. It’ll never happen unless I just bloody do it.

  11. June 24, 2009 at 4:18 am

    No words of wisdom here. You’ll figure it out though–look at how far you’ve come :).

  12. 12 ciocia
    June 25, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Change is hard. Give yourself credit for what you have done already, instead of measuring yourself against perfection. Perfection never happens, and change just takes a long time.

  13. 13 RA
    June 25, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Change is definitely hard. I’ve never had to give up something (again, not giving up my java) that I am addicted to like smoking. I just caught up on the past few posts (was on vacay) so I’m glad to hear that you are in better spirits and getting to a better place. It’ll happen in the time that it’s supposed to….and all that bs. 🙂

  14. June 28, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Why do we do things that hurt our bodies? When I cut out sugar and white flour for 8 days recently, I felt amazing. I wasn’t tired and the bloated belly was gone… yet why couldn’t I do this for 9 days? What you said about not getting any younger and having to change your life hit a cord. However, yours sounded desperate.. This is the deal — Doing harm to our bodies by over eating, smoking, not exercising is bad. That’s it. Now, big steps are always hard and scary. Take some small ones. Cut out one thing that you know triggers you to do other bad things. Tell yourself you are going to do it for one day. After the first day, see if you can do it for two, and so on. That’s how my 8 days happened. I will attempt this strategy again/too… on Monday, not today. Let me know how it goes.


Leave a Reply

Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

