07
Jul
09

One of us! One of us! (not)

This is from a great cult movie, so obscure that I can’t even rememeber the name of it.  I saw a spoof recently on the Simpsons recently, so it’s in my head.  Great movie, it’ll stick with you for a while.  Anyway, I hope I’m not becoming one of THOSE people, you know the ones who are so inflexible and uptight about their eating, that they’re really no fun.  I’ve had a few experiences lately that make me wonder, but mostly I think I’m still okay.    The first was about a week ago, when I had a friend in town, and we went on an urban hike with his ex-girlfriend, from a few towns over.  After we walked up and down various hills for a few hours, we got to a neighborhood with lots of shops and restaurants.   Sharon wanted to go to a tasty bakery and get cheesebread, and was disturbed that I didn’t want any.  I don’t know what cheesebread is exactly, but it sounds nasty.  Yes, I realize I just did a huge walk, but that doesn’t mean I want pastries, especially cheese bread.  I tried some of hers, and it was as nasty as I thought it would be.  My friend and I got burritos, and she wouldn’t get one, because she wanted to get a better one later, since she’s usually on a raw food diet, so if she’s eating a burrito, it should be the best!  (And she gives me shit for not wanting cheesebread that I don’t even like!)

The next day, I was sitting in a park with a friend, and she wanted to split a bacon wrapped hot dog.  Now I love bacon, and I eat hot dogs, fully cognizant of the fact that they are made of assholes and eyeballs.  But these look nasty, smell really bad.  The bacon is just wrapped around a low quality hot dog, it looks rubbery and greasy, and I really hate those gluey white buns.  Sorry, you’re on your own with that one.  We went hiking a few days later, and split a bacon/cheese/mushroom burger and green salad.  I talked her into a green salad instead of a chef’s salad.  She sighed, but said when she goes out with Randy (the friend who introduced us), it’s much worse, as he’s vegan.  We were talking later, and I said I didn’t bake.  She thought that was so awful, after all banana bread is healthy, as is zucchini bread.    I started to explain that if I have it at home, I’ll eat it all very quickly, so I just get something like that when I want some, but she thought that was irrational.  I got tired of explaining, for the third time this week, that I have/am losing weight, and I can’t eat like this, so I pulled out my driver’s license, showed her my picture.  I’m about 60 pounds heavier, it’s a striking difference,  and it finally shut her up.   I’m not like her.  Or my pal’s ex-girlfriend.

I’ve been lucky enough not to spend too much time around weird, rigid dieters, and I certainly don’t want to become one.  I’m happy to eat high fat, greasy, heavy food occasionally, but it’s gotta actually be stuff I like.    I ate potato chips, hot dogs, and cheesecake on July 4, and didn’t feel uptight about that.  It did feel weird not to take leftover hotdogs and other leftovers home for the skinny dog, but I’m getting used to it.  She’s been eating 1/4 of my meals for so long now, I feel very full eating them all myself.

11 Responses to “One of us! One of us! (not)”


  1. July 7, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    It’s “Freaks”! Great movie.

    As to the rest of the post, I feel ya. I eat a fair amount. I enjoy sweets, fried foods and all kinds of treats in moderation. But sometimes from the way people talk you would think I eat nothing but brussel sprouts and sprouted wheat all day.

    I get the same attitude sometimes when it comes to exercise.

  2. July 7, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    I never saw the original film, but it was spoofed in ‘The Player’. Whoopi Goldberg and…Lyle Lovett, I think.

    I do understand your comments about eating with people who are less than understanding. Like you, I’ll splurge, but it’s got to be on something splurge-worthy. Not just any old crap.

    I’m so sorry about your loss. Dogs are such wonderful friends.

  3. July 7, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Being around other people can be tricky, but your first responsibility is your health and your needs… so don’t feel bad. Nobody is going to do your dialysis for you when you’re kidneys give in from eating junk, or have chemo for you…

  4. July 8, 2009 at 5:19 am

    i’m not fond of ppl pushing their diet/food ideas on me. i eat what i eat, and it’s me that will have to suffer whatever consequences, not them. i have to admit, i AM however, a person that will comment on quanitity with friends/family. you know the ones that eat like everyday is an all you can eat buffett. i don’t care if you’re eating that bacon wrapped, bbq, triple hot dog/cheeseburger mess, but do you have to eat 2 or 3? moderation is the key, and just making SMART choices, not psychotic military black and white choices constantly.

  5. 5 Meg
    July 8, 2009 at 7:41 am

    I don’t seen anything wrong, or “uptight”, about your eating decisions. You’re eating what *you* want to eat, and you’re eating what’s healthy for you. It bothers me when other people feel the need to pressure people around them into eating what they’re eating, almost like if you eat it too than it’s ok for them to eat it. If you don’t want or like cheese bread, then don’t eat it! Don’t let someone guilt you into eating something you don’t want!

  6. July 8, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Sighs. I have a hard time with this… no, we shouldn’t deprive ourselves, but we also shouldn’t eat stuff we don’t want to. Some people give me a hard time because I don’t eat fast food and that sort of thing, but I really have no DESIRE to eat that. It makes me feel horrible when I eat it, so why would I want that?

    I have one friend who pressures me to eat junk food a lot, but the real problem is that she’s insecure about her own food issues. Generally when people get all in your face about what you’re eating, it’s because they feel guilty or insecure.

  7. July 8, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Two things: first, no, I don’t think your eating is weird at all. There’s a HUGE difference between not eating something because it doesn’t sound good, and not eating something because it’s not on “The List of Approved Food.” (Oh, come on. We’ve ALL had a “List” at some point, right? RIGHT? Erm. Never mind.)

    But this is what really jumped out at me: the idea that your friends are aghast when you don’t eat something, EVEN IF YOU DON’T THINK IT SOUNDS GOOD. I think that’s a big part of our cultural “dieting” mentality, right there. It’s frankly the reason “cheat meals” never worked for me: when the time for that meal rolled around, I would eat whatever “bad” food I could get my hands on, JUST BECAUSE I WAS “ALLOWED” TO. Even if I didn’t really want it, I ate it because this was my One! Opportunity! for the Week! And I don’t think that response is terribly unusual.

    So the idea that you CAN have a bacon-wrapped hot dog (for instance), but GENUINELY choose not to – not because it’s bad for you, but because it just doesn’t look appetizing – throws a lot of people for a loop.

    Hm. So after all of that, I have to revise my first statement: I think maybe you’re NOT “normal,” at least in the statistical sense. But I don’t think that’s a bad thing here, either. I think it’s not that you’re inflexible and uptight about your eating, but rather that you’re flexible enough to recognize what you really want – and what you don’t.

    Mske sense?

  8. July 8, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I am one to eat the way I want to eat no matter where I am or who is with me. Yes, I keep a pretty tight hold on what I eat whether a friend likes it or not. My first responsibility is to myself & my health & health goals. Usually I try to plan things around not eating out because I am a stickler in this realm. I don’t understand why others can’t just let a person be & do what is right for them. I don’t mind if others want to eat more “fattening” foods around me but don’t expect me to eat it just because they want me to. Like you, I want to splurge on things I actually want to eat rather than wasted calories on things I don’t really want. For me, if they don’t like it, then, well, don’t be with me when it is a food thing. I know that sounds mean but just the way it is for me. I have been doing my own thing for years & pretty much all my friends/family are used to it now & they just go with the flow.

  9. July 9, 2009 at 4:30 am

    i love this blog. so real. most of the people i hang out with know that i eat healthy…. until i don’t [which means my head isn’t in the game]. i am so there with food/no food in the house. i went to buy ice cream for my son the other day and decided better not… i wasn’t feeling strong enough to fight the call of the freezer. it’s a tough battle and for those who don’t get it [THE FOOD issue], i have to believe they have other demons.

  10. July 10, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    food is so loaded. i don’t understand when people push their food on you. or comment on what you’re eating. or care. who cares?

    somehow, conversation and connection get lost in all the babble about chocolate or tofu, depending which annoying person is on his or her soap box.

    can you tell this has happened to me? frequently.

    good for you for hanging in there!

  11. 11 RA
    July 11, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Okay, so when I read bacon-wrapped hot dog I think my stomach turned, and only because to me it sounds horrible, nothing to do with the nutritional aspects. I don’t find your eating too restrictive or out of line. You allow yourself to eat whatever and whenever, in moderation and as long as you like it. Now, I would have been all over the cheese bread because that is like heaven to me. 🙂

    Just keep on doing what you do and write about it to get the frustrations out.
    Rockin


Leave a Reply

Pages

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

