20
Jul
09

30 hours of summer

It felt just like it did when I was a kid.  I wore a bathing suit, same one from my previous scary picture, about 10 pounds ago:

https://justjuliebean.wordpress.com/2009/05/14/me-exposed-2/

It’s now too big on me, but I don’t have another, and it was just a girlfriend and I.  She was house/dog sitting for a traveling cousin, in a not too far town where the temp >103F (my town today = 67F).  Swimming just isn’t a part  of my life.  Shorts are hardly part of my life.  I sat by the pool, I swam in the pool, I did handstands and somersaults and flips.   I wore a tank top out at night in public, got no strange looks, and I don’t even look too fat even to myself anymore.   Still very far from thin, which isn’t really what I’m aiming for, just not chubby.  Realistically maybe 10-15 pounds more.

I’m changing course a bit.  I did a yoga class today, much easier and more comfortable than it was 40 pounds ago.  I would like to do yoga 1x/week, I like the stretch and blood flow stuff.  I’ve also decided to put more effort into the strength training.  I also do that at least 2x week, but I don’t quite push myself enough to move up in weights, or really progress.  It’s kinda silly, to go and be half-assed about it.  I’m moving to a new town next month, I’ll need to join a new gym.  Life is going to radically change, but honestly, it can’t be for the worse.  Things have been getting a little better recently, but I’m not happy or thriving here.

Tomorrow I have a guest coming, for over a week.  I haven’t seen him in 20 years, found him thorugh Facebook.  Can I leave him and hit the gym an hour or two every other day?  Surely he can entertain himself for a few hours, this is a major tourist town, and he’s here more to visit town than me.  OK, that doesn’t seem too rude, when I look at it like that.  I was concerned, but now that it’s written, it seems reasonable.  Possibly this means a lot of meals out as well, but I think he actually can cook, so maybe we’ll just split the cooking.  That makes sense too, maybe this will be okay.  Wish me well, 10 days is a long time.

8 Responses to “30 hours of summer”


  1. July 20, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Ten days is a long time, especially to spend 24/7 with someone. I think that he should be happy to spend a hour or two by himself daily. Maybe just to take a nap, read a book… who knows. It will keep you from wanting to tear out his (or yours). Have fun!

    ((Ps))… is he single??

  2. July 21, 2009 at 6:27 am

    He is single, but I remember not being ever attracted to him, too nervous or self-conscious or something. Hmmm, maybe that should be a lesson to me? I told him I lost 40 pounds, I don’t think it will be a surprise that I have this exercise habit. He probably does need a few hours/day to himself, and a lot of this city I’ve already seen. Or maybe he likes to walk 4-5+ hours a day, which also works for me. Maybe he wants to do all of the cooking…? 🙂

  3. 3 RA
    July 21, 2009 at 6:39 am

    I believe it is perfectly acceptable, he’ll want to do his own thing as well I’m sure. 10-15 pounds is so close! That’s where I’m at. My end goal weight is 148-150. I just read your other post as well. I seem to be stuck at this 160 mark, I’m happy about it, but while training for the tri I’m not sure what to do. Hmmm…anyway…your 30 hours of summer sounded blissful. Peace!

  4. July 21, 2009 at 7:33 am

    It will be fun! Do what you want to do, he can be left on his own for a while. It sounds like you’re changing course in a good way.

  5. July 21, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    anusara yoga is strength training. try to find an anusara class. trust me, in a month you will see triceps and biceps and your back will look great. the lower body also gets quite a work-out. actually, i think yoga, 3-4 days a week, plus power walking,biking,jogging 3-4 days a week will build, define and trim your body just right. give it a shot. and remember, [about your friend staying] if you don’t put you and your health first, no one else will. so, be a little selfish if you have to and take your 2 hours. i’m sure he’ll understand. you would!

  6. July 22, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Julie – I just realized I posted the “you look great” response on your May post. Again, you look great.

    Have a good time with your friend. Yes, you can go to the gym. I say so.

    And thanks for helping me re-connect with peggynature’s blog. She’s great.

  7. July 22, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Maybe your guest wants to work out too OR you can take walks or jog or whatever together… maybe it will give him incentive if it is not something he does. I think a couple hours for you is not too much to ask! Enjoy!

    As for the move change.. maybe it will surprise you & bring better things your way!

  8. July 31, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    just got back from cape cod. exercised and ate randomly. not sure about getting on the scale tomorrow since it’s been 8 days since i’ve been on it. good luck with your move and purge.


Leave a Reply

Pages

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

