02
Aug
09

bad luck, tough love

If one more person complains to me how they can’t lose weight no matter what they do, while they’re eating a bag of doritos or drinking a coke, I may just tell them why.  I went to a concert in the park, brought my Farmer’s Market catch of English peas, grapes, plums and pistachios, a bottle of water, and a bottle of wine.  Most people in the park were eating convenience food, which I rarely eat, but they’re not bitching about how difficult weight loss is.  Most of them were totally thin.  I guess I’m close enough to pass.  I saw one woman who was briefly a friend, who I dislike and avoid, and she’s gotten very  very large.  Large like you rarely see in this town.

Anyway, I’m a bit irritated about this issue because I read some blog where a woman commented about her gastric bypass surgery.  She had originally lost 150, had gained back about 85.  The next commenter said that she (or he) was about to express sympathy, but had gone to check out bypassers blog, where she went on about the bacon and whatever casseroles, and other such super-heavy food, so it should not be a far jump to see where the weight gain came from.  Then come some FA people to jump on that commenter about how people need to eat fat, and they bet she doesn’t eat clean, blah blah blah.  In my opinion, if you don’t mind that you’re fat, eat whatever and lots of it, but don’t bitch to me about how fucked up your metabolism is, or get a drastic operation almost sure to cause malnutrition in the best of circumstances, eat nothing but starch and fat, and whine about how it doesn’t work.   Yes, I like bacon, and I eat a slice scrambled in an egg with some spinach and mushrooms once or twice a week, but I exercise enough that I can do that, and still lose weight.  I could drink a coke, if I wanted my throat to burn, and wanted that sweet metallic taste, but if I drank one (or more) every day, my weight loss would quickly grind to a halt, if not reverse.  The guy who drank the coke (and drinks a few daily) did Atkins a few years back, lost a lot of weight, then life got in the way, gained it back and more.  He won’t realize that there’s another way, since he can’t give up carbs, he can’t lose weight.  He has no cooking facilities, I suggest he could eat something with more veggies than a salami sandwich occasionally.  Or start eating fruit, he’s got a fridge.  I get nothing but “yeah, but”s.  I don’t bother anymore at that point, no matter what I suggest, there’s an excuse.   Whatever.  I’m almost done losing my weight, not going to listen to bullshit theories, not going to discuss it anymore, since people want to believe whatever weird cultish diet du jour is popular at the moment.  Anything but eating less, especially meat and starch.  That’s too much sacrifice.

11 Responses to “bad luck, tough love”


  1. August 2, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    You just fucking get it all out! YEAH!!

    Sometimes you just run across that shit, and you have to make a choice to join the roast, or quickly get out of that site.

    And don’t get me started on the FA thing… I am all for everyone’s acceptance- but FA ain’t part of WL surgery…

  2. August 3, 2009 at 9:26 am

    LOL, but tell us how you really feel. It’s not healthy to hold in your feelings like that. 😉

    Funny thing is, I know the blog you’re talking about and the conversation that you’re talking about. As a general rule, I totally agree with you: make your choice and shut up about it, you know? I think that a lot of the heat over there came from the fact that the responder was basically yelling at the WLS commenter. (And FWIW, I clicked through to the WLS commenter’s blog, and that was the only fattening recipe that I saw. I think that added to my personal irritation at the responder, too. Talk about cherry-picking your data, you know?) But I will totally agree that if you’re living on an all-crap, all-the-time diet, don’t bitch to me about how you can’t lose weight. (If you’re doing all the “right” things and STILL aren’t losing, complain all you want. But at least make the damn effort, LOL.)

  3. August 3, 2009 at 10:54 am

    You raise a fair point. We can complain all we like about not seeing progress, but we have to put in HARD WORK to see the action happen.

  4. August 3, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Very true… Maybe people should stop complaining and use that time to work on not eating such unhealthy foods or exercising!

  5. August 3, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    There is a lot of truth to this post. In fact, I had a similar conversation with someone today who was asking about my weight loss. The conversation ended with them telling me that nothing works for them (as they sucked down their full-sugar soda).

  6. August 4, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    It’s all about calories obtained and calories utilized. If someone, with the very rare exception of factors beyond their control, wants to lose weight, they will. Being fit, I don’t hear this stuff very much, but I see plenty of it in print. I try to peacefully allow others to live the life they choose.

  7. 8 Sarah
    August 17, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    It’s nice to be judgmental and preachy, isn’t it? Just because you see somebody eating what you consider a “bad” food doesn’t mean they eat that way all the time. And yes, they may have a metabolism problem. And WLS isn’t a good idea in the first place – it’s basically a starvation technique, which may explain why those who get the procedure end up eating more in the first place. Personally, I have known two people who have died from the procedure, but I won’t get into that….

    But I guess it’s just simpler to assume people just eat too much and don’t exercise – that way, you don’t have to get off your high horse.

    • August 17, 2009 at 2:36 pm

      Why, yes, it is very nice. I know these people, they have no metabolism problems. No more than I had, when I ate way too damn much and complained about how unfair it was that I couldn’t lose weight. I assume nothing, and I don’t give a shit what people eat, as I said, practically everyone in that park was eating crap. But everyone wasn’t coming up to me to whine and make excuses. People have a right to be fat, they just don’t have a right to complain to me how it’s too inconvenient to change their lifestyle to not be so any more. Fine, shut up and keep eating your doritos, then, don’t come to pick a fight.

  8. August 18, 2009 at 9:41 am

    What does FA stand for? I don’t read many weight loss blogs, so I don’t know. I assume WFS is stomach stapling? Sorry to be so ignorant of the terminology 🙂 I know what you mean about whiners because I was one, for years. I have a dead thyroid gland, it’s never worked in my life, and I used that as a crutch for YEARS.

    • August 18, 2009 at 9:57 am

      It stands for Fat Acceptance, and it doesn’t tend to be sympathetic to weight loss, so you won’t find much of it on weight loss blogs. WLS is weight loss surgery, which includes stomach stapling, and all the rest of the surgeries. Thanks for reading and commenting!


Leave a Reply

Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

