10
Aug
09

I leave my heart in San Francisco

And move to Berkeley, which I don’t love.  SF is great, awesome town, but too expensive for the unemployed, and I see no job in the future.   I’m not a huge fan of Berkeley, but I bought a crappy triplex there about 9 years ago, before I knew better, so now I’m going to go live in it.  It’s about 25% of the size of my current apartment, tough adjustment.  I’m two pounds from my original goal, four pounds from where I’m no longer overweight, BMI speaking.  When I move, I’ll have to join a new gym, and it’s expensive, like $60/month.  My other gym will be $25/year, and I’ll keep it for when I travel, but the one in Berkeley sucks really badly and a good gym is not optional.  I spend at least that much on fruit every month, too.  Being healthy is expensive for city dwellers.

I was reading a post by Attrice the other day on some of the changes she’s experienced over her last year of working on fitness, and I commented that I didn’t really see so much in myself, being that when I got too big to easily ride a bike, I’d lose some, but I’ve been thinking more about it.  For example, I’m no longer the slowest bike on the road.  Nor the slowest walker.  I still can’t do a whole lot of pushups, but whatever.  One thing I do remember about being bigger, is that I was very clumsy.  Always banging into stuff.  I think I was larger than my body image accounted for, I must have gained really fast when I gained.  Not really surprising, considering how much I used to eat.  I burped a lot back then, too, now only when I drink beer or soda.  I know, tmi.

Now that I’m in full on moving mode, eating has gotten sporadic.  I’m eating about one big meal a day, with lots of snacks thrown in, trying to finish food that’s here so that I don’t have to move it.   I’ll be glad when it’s over (by Saturday).  I’m doing two hours at the gym every three days or so, because I have to go or I’ll go nuts, but I don’t have much time, especially because it often leaves me kinda tired, not feeling like packing/cleaning.   Maybe after I move, I’ll just do an hour a day.  What am I going to do with myself?  Not that I do much now.  I guess if I’m not going to work a paid job, I should do some volunteer work.  At some point, unemployment will run out, and I hopefully the job market will have picked up by then.  I don’t want to think about it.    I want to eat cantelope.


7 Responses to “I leave my heart in San Francisco”


  1. August 10, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    I’m so sorry your life is in such upheaval. It’s unsettling to say the least! Great idea on the volunteering. I’m considering doing the same at our local food bank. It will help to have structure to the day.

  2. August 11, 2009 at 7:31 am

    I too was thinking about my body the other day because I’m frustrated that I’m 8 pounds heavier than I was last summer. At the same time, I do see a difference in my physique because of the 90″ of anusara yoga I do 3-4x a week for the past 6 months. Those classes took the place of my power walks, so I’m only getting true aerobic exercise maybe 3x week instead of 7 and 2 of those are taking my dog for a walk. I could leave him home, but he loves getting out on those long walks and truthfully, I like the company. Alas, I know the weight will come off. I just need to stop eating the things I know I shouldn’t be. Hard, but doable. Good luck with your move and life in general. Enjoy!

  3. August 11, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I’m impressed that you can spell Berkeley! I always have to look it up! The last time I was in your area we drove into the Berkeley hills. That was really nice. My friends used to live in Berkeley, but now they live in Redwood City.

  4. August 11, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I’ve decided I should reply to comments, since I appreciate when bloggers respond to mine! So here goes:

    Cammy – It’s unsettling, but I think it’ll be better in the long run. Too little structure can be dangerous, and another great part of volunteering is that you often meet really great people.

    Bobby – Changes in physique can be more telling than changes in weight. My philosophy is not to stop eating stuff, just eat less of it, and less often.

    Dr J – Berkeley hills are very nice. Berkeley flats, not so much. I’m right on the edge of open air drug dealing, too many drive-bys. I’ve never had problems there before, and I’m more likely to be hit on than mugged, best I can hope for is ignored.

  5. August 12, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Maybe you’ll learn to really like it there! Things are always crazy during moving time. Hopefully it’ll all go smoothly.

  6. August 12, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Moving is stressful! And that must be frustrating that you’re in a funky part of Berkeley. Stay safe! But perhaps there’s some cool stuff within biking distance? I don’t know the flats all that well; was living in Rockridge for a while.

    One thing i totally miss now that I don’t live in the east bay anymore: Berkeley Bowl! God, do they have the best produce.

    Hope once you settle in things start looking up. And it’s great that you’ve noticed some really positive changes as you look back.

  7. August 17, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Thanks, Sagan, hopefully things will settle now that I’m sort of here. Crazy, indeed.

    Crabby- Rockridge is nice, a bit too upscale for me, but pretty. There’s actually a new Berkeley Bowl, haven’t been there yet, but has taken the huge lines from the old one, which I can walk to in 5 minutes. Competing with themselves, I guess.


Leave a comment


Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31