10
Sep
09

Four women sat naked by a river

Nobody discussed body image. Nobody discussed diet or food, though we all ate and drank. One of us was obese, two of us formerly obese, one slightly overweight.  We spent the day swimming, sunning (truthfully, I hide in the shade), exploring.  We stayed all day, with other random strangers, who seemed very nice.  None were self-conscious.   I trip a little about my friend who had wls, doesn’t have to exercise or watch what she eats, though she keeps telling me she should.  She doesn’t seem to be able to eat very much.  I sensed a tiny bit of animosity between me and the heavy woman, though maybe I’m just imagining it.  Unless my wls surgery friend told her I used to be big, she wouldn’t know.  Oddly enough, my wls friend and I were the same size originally, but then she moved away from city (and bicycle) to a autocentric lifestyle in the burbs,  with a new guy, and gained and gained and gained.

Anyway, I spent the weekend in the suburbs.  I’m two weeks off cigarettes, not sleeping wonderfuly yet.  I’d wake up at 5 am, go walk around until the sun got bright (7:30 or so), then eat breakfast, swim in pool rest of day.  I don’t really consider walking on flat ground to be exercise, but not many other choices, and nothing better to do at that hour.

Now I’m home, off ciggs, about a month left on unemployment, and I’m starting to see some interest in my resume.  It’s about time to go back to work, summer is over.  Meanwhile, I’m going to try to get off this last 10 pounds that I need to lose to get to BMI normal.  In the name of arbitrary goal setting, I’m going to try to lose 4 pounds by Halloween.  That’s more than six weeks.  It’s possible, but I’ll have to go to the gym a lot.  At this point, I have to work hard for it, diet alone doesn’t seem to lower the number.  There’s no way I can really know this, it’s just very slow, but goes quicker with lots of gym use.

Here’s a picture of me from the weekend, I forgot my bathing suit, which doesn’t fit anyway.  It’s actually a visible difference from my last pool picture, four months ago.    I think I’ve only lost 5-7 pounds since then, though I can’t be sure, as I haven’t kept track very well.

sacraamento

11 Responses to “Four women sat naked by a river”


  1. September 10, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    You look wonderful. Lose another few pounds if you want but don’t forget that the BMI is a total load of crap. You can be a world-class athlete but according to the BMI you can still be obese. It was invented in the 19th century by someone who didn’t know anything about health, weight or physiology. How you look and how your clothes fit are infinitely more accurate than the BMI. It’s so unfortunate that people have adopted a system of measurement that has absolutely no scientific validity.

    All this being said, you really do look wonderful.

  2. September 10, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    You look awesome! That 5-7 pounds definitely shows.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed on the resume interest!

  3. September 10, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Good luck with the job search and the weight loss goal!

  4. September 10, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    So glad to hear that you are still off the cancer sticks… and better yet, maintaining your weight and even thinking of losing some. I wish I had been more in control when I quit instead of just letting it all go and putting on 40 pounds [in 3 months]. I lived with those extra lbs for about 6-7 months and then finally lost them over the next 5-6 months. Oh youth. Now I battle to lose 5. Good luck with everything!!!

  5. September 10, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I think you look great… a whole LOT of boobs, and a small body back behind them somewhere..!! (whistling)

  6. September 11, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Aw shucks! I’m blushing! 🙂

  7. September 11, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Lookin’ great!

    It’s always interesting the way that body image woes and our diet/exercise lifestyles hover in the background, unmentioned yet still THERE, when we’re with others who have had/do have issues with those things. It’s amazing how much can be conveyed without actually SAYING anything.

  8. September 11, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Wow, to not be gaining weight while your quitting smoking is a huge accomplishment, let alone losing weight! I thought that temporary weight gain was an almost inevitable side effect of quitting.

    Congrats on sticking to your plan and staying off the cigarettes!

    • September 11, 2009 at 7:47 pm

      It’s common to gain, but it’s mostly compensatory eating behavior. Hmmm, have I been eating too much chocolate recently? It can happen if I’m not careful. Magic 8 ball says “more likely than not”. Dammit. I’ll pick up some grapes and watermelon at farmers’ market tomorrow. Thanks for the reminder.

  9. September 13, 2009 at 5:17 am

    just wanted to say thanks – with almost every babble i post, there is a reader referred from your blog. so thanks.

  10. September 14, 2009 at 9:59 am

    great picture! just keep on keeping on! it takes time to create a new “lifestyle” because diets don’t work, and there is so much info out there, it’s overkill.

    one of these days i will kick the smoke habit too. some days i think it’s the only thing that keeps me sane.. LOL


Leave a Reply

Pages

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

