03
Oct
09

Old vegetables smell like farts

Vacation was fun, eating wasn’t too difficult.  I managed to get in plenty of veggies and fruits, some that I bought, some from the food bank.  I ate out about half of the time, deciding after day 1 that I would try to avoid deep fried (after quesing out over fish and chips-my second time eating fries).  I have gained 2 pounds in the last month, between moving, quitting smoking, and vacation.  Maybe more, maybe less, it’s hard to tell as I lost scale continuity by moving.  Two scales across two days gave me 159, so that’s where I’ll call it.  I am trying to go to 148, which is where I’m technically not overweight anymore (by BMI).  Yes, I know BMI is not great, but I gotta pick some arbitrary number, so why not?

I’m starting a class in green chemistry today.  It sounds interesting, though the timing is unfortunate.  Saturday mornings are when I get up and drive to SF at 7 am, go to the farmers market, step class, body sculpt class, veggie burrito (brown rice of course), and whatever else I have to do.  I have a huge pile of mail at my last apartment, need to try to visit the landlord, have a beer in his yard, smooch on his rottie dog.

Speaking of beer, I don’t think I’m giving alcohol enough credit in my lack of losing weight.  Though I know better, somehow I don’t account for it, or really compensate foodwise for how much I drink.  Which was a bunch on vacation, not a whole lot at home.  But I also rode a crappy old 10-speed for about 5 hours/daily, including locking up for some hikes.  But realistically, I can take an oerall look back on my diet, and as it starts going up in starch and cheese, weight loss stops/reverses.  I think it’s mostly because that means I’m eating out a lot, which means I’m eating less vegetables, bigger portions, less whole grainy, more alcohol.  But I’m back, and tomorrow morning I can finally get to the farmers market, restock my fruits and veggies.  Hooray!

I started smoking again.  Made it to the second to last day of vacation, then folded.  I’ll try again in a week or two.  Shit.

vashon 034vashon 008

7 Responses to “Old vegetables smell like farts”


  1. October 3, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    OK, weighed myself again today, down two pounds. In other words, the scale hasn’t moved in a month. It’s nice to know that I can maintain while eating whatever, but I would like to keep losing.

  2. October 5, 2009 at 7:38 am

    i know alcohol was a big factor in my not being able to lose weight last summer. i’m trying to get back into diet soda, or water at the events i go to.

  3. October 7, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Lots of foods smell like farts, but turkey chili from wholefoods smells like vomit LOL. Sorry to hear about the smoking relapse, but where there is a will, there is a way. I quite 4 times before I finally quit for good. Good luck!

  4. October 8, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Hooray for being back to a routine! I’m trying to get back into mine, too. *sigh*

    Good luck on the smoking; I’m sorry you relapsed, but in a perverse way I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s been relapsing on stuff lately.

  5. October 9, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    It’s interesting how something like alcohol can make a big impact without us really noticing. Sounds like things are a little stressful but just take it one step at a time!

  6. October 11, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Sorry about the relapse, but I bet you’ll be back on track soon. And that post title cracked me up!

  7. October 12, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Alcohol really can make a big difference in weight loss. Don’t beat yourself up over any of this. You can get your motivation both for weight loss and smoking back. Take it easy on yourself.


Leave a Reply

Pages

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

