12
Oct
09

My body screams for…kickboxing?

I think I’ve figured out why I’ve been on a plateau, and how to break it.   Oddly enough, I came across it not even thinking about weight, just my state of mind.  I recently moved across the bay about 1.5 months ago, joined a new (expensive) gym, as the chain gym to which I belong has a really substandard branch nearby.  The classes are weak, here.  They’re slow.  The yoga is okay, cardio is tame.  When I woke up yesterday morning, I was feeling grouchy and restless.  I needed something to burn away all the “piss and vinegar” that I was feeling, so I drove over the bay, went to a kickboxing class that makes me feel better, and yoga, since I spent $4 on bridge toll, I’d better make it worth it.  I worked harder in that class than I do in three here, my whole body/mind feels it, and I’m still tired today.  I’ll likely even take the day off from the gym, just walk.

Now my theory, that I need this more intense workout, to burn my increasingly stubborn fat, needs to be tested with the scale, but I think it will work.  If nothing else, it certainly improves my mood.  I’m going to quit my new gym, and use the $60/month to drive across 2x week, Wednesday evenings (step, body sculpt) and Sunday (kickboxing and either yoga or this other intriguing looking class called willpower & grace, which looks to be a mix of dance and calisthenics).  I especially like the step class, I crave it and enjoy it like I used to enjoy drugs I no longer do.  Instead of the tapping and stepping we do at the class here, we fly over the bench.  I’ll still go to the crappy branch here, to fill in the gaps, and that’s where I weigh myself.  I have around 8 pounds until I’m no longer “overweight”, going to try to get there by my 41st b-day, in December.

10 Responses to “My body screams for…kickboxing?”


  1. October 12, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I think your idea is great. But may I suggest you take your measurements rather than checking the scale? An 8-pound loss can be meaningless compared to an inch or two off your waist or hips. One measurement we often forget is the one from the bellybutton to the top of the pubic bone. If your fat tends to settle on your stomach, this is an extremely telling measurement.

    Looking forward to hearing your results!

  2. October 12, 2009 at 9:48 am

    I love, love, LOVE kickboxing!! A good home workout is that Turbo Jam series too! The kickboxing class here is intense, and she gets in a lot of “butt and gut” workouts in there too!

  3. October 12, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Agree with Cher about the Turbo Jam; I love it. And I know exactly what you mean about needing a harder workout. I don’t know that it affects my weight a whole lot, but I DO know that it affects my mood and my physiology a WHOLE lot.

  4. October 12, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Julie, I have never been one to go to a gym, but I could get into an intense workout like kickboxing. While totally different, I would also like to try regular boxing, just with adequate protection. 🙂 I don’t need a broken nose!

  5. October 13, 2009 at 4:37 am

    Great!! The martial arts changed my life for the better!

  6. October 13, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Increasing the intensity of exercise along with really being careful with your eating will most likely break right through that plateau! Grat job on ramping things up and crossing the Bay to do it!

  7. October 13, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    My boyfriend also hates anything as intense as kick boxing, in fact I think we both just hate any intense sport in general.

  8. October 15, 2009 at 7:14 am

    A good sweat feels great and kick boxing is a really good way. I’ve read that interval training is one of the best ways to burn stubborn fat. Sometimes, I interval train – I call it mailbox sprinting. I run from mailbox [they’re pretty far apart where I am] to the next, walk to the next, run to the next, and so on. At the end of 40-60 minutes, I’m a sweaty mess. I prefer to exercise outside, so this works for me. We also have some pretty big hills. I run up the hill and walk down for 40-60 minutes. Now that burns!!!

  9. October 15, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Hey!! You were not rude!? I enjoy input. I don’t think that we should be forced to always leave superduper and teddybearsbutterflies and rainbowshugs comments on each post. Please!

    I wrote a comment back to you in my comments (that was a weird string of words)…

    Thanks for taking the time to read, and comment. Your thoughts and advice are always appreciated.

  10. October 18, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Interesting how big of a difference it can be from one place to another. Kickboxing sounds AWESOME.


Leave a Reply

Pages

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

