20
Jan
10

Shopping from size XL to S

I can’t avoid it anymore, even my gym clothes are getting baggy, I have to start shopping.  Today I stopped by a Goodwill in the 20 minutes before gym, and got a few shirts/sweaters.  First of all, how can it be that I wear shirts that are small?  Most mediums are too large, that was a shocker.  I’m still overweight, something is very wrong.  I didn’t buy any pants today, though I need to, as I have a few pairs of 10s that are too big, and some 8s and 10s that are okay, and a pair of 8s that are too tight.  I wore these 8s to a concert the other night, had to unbutton them after I ate, and my stomach rolled over the side, fortunately hidden (barely) by my shirt.  Awful disturbing flashbacks and memories of years of too-tight pants, delaying buying clothes that fit because I didn’t want to face the weight gain.

So yes, shopping is still something I won’t do until I have nothing to wear, which is starting to happen.  The weirdest thing here, when I was XL, anything that fit was fair game.   Now that so much fits, I can actually just buy stuff that looks good.  This was a bit mind-blowing for me today, but why not?  Why lose 50 pounds just to dress and look frumpy?  As the ex says, I worked hard for this body,  might as well show it off, and he does have a point.

I’m going to wait on buying pants, since I have enough that sort of fit, and maybe when the pair that is now too tight is getting too loose (positive thinking?), I’ll buy some more.  In the meantime, I need some rain boots, as the rain keeps coming.  And gym clothes, so expensive.  I would be better served by diverting 25% of the energy dedicated to losing weight towards finding a job, maybe that’s a good way to start changing my focus.

P.S. I finally bought a full length mirror today, a cheap antique that I’ll need to clean up, but maybe now that I can actually see how frumpy I look, maybe I’ll be more motivated to dress in clothes that fit.

6 Responses to “Shopping from size XL to S”


  1. January 21, 2010 at 5:15 am

    It sounds like you are being too hard on yourself. Size 8-10 doesn’t sound frumpy to me. Neither does XS!

    • January 21, 2010 at 9:29 am

      Hi Steve, thanks for stopping by and commenting. Things look frumpy because they are big on me, don’t fit well. XS? This must be what the size 0-4 wear, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen clothes this size.

  2. January 24, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Gotcha – I was misreading this. It sounds as if XS is where you may be.

  3. January 26, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Yay for new clothes! I think you’ll look fantastic in some new stuff. Also, larger clothes not only look frumpy, but larger than you (the general) are. And like your ex said, you worked hard for it – might as well enjoy it! 🙂

  4. January 27, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I know it’s hard to buy clothes before you are exactly where you want to be, but you deserve to show off your hard work in flattering clothes! I didn’t buy a lot as I was going down the scale, but bought a few pieces that fit well at the time. Then I happily gave them back to Goodwill and bought a few more things!!

    Congratulations on all you have accomplished.

  5. February 1, 2010 at 4:22 am

    It’s so hard to quit smoking. This is from someone who smoked for 15 years, quit then would occasionally have a cig at the bar and start back up again for a few days only to quit again. Just keep hanging with it, it will get much better with time and then you will not even miss them.

    It sounds like you’ve got a lot of time under your belt anyway, so I’m sure you’re almost there! 🙂

    And best of luck with the guy from the gym. We all need a little “us” time! lol


Leave a Reply

Pages

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

