27
Jan
10

Eat less, exercise less

Over two weeks off cigarettes, and I haven’t been eating to compensate.  Exercising, yes.  I generally exercise a lot, but it’s been all in the gym, due to rain.     I haven’t been getting my life in balance yet either, had to cut myself a break to get off the cigarettes.  I’m trying, though.

Strangely enough, I went to a party the other night, ran into this guy I run into occasionally.  I mentioned to him that I saw him coming into the gym as I was leaving the other day.    I mentioned that he’d lost weight.  He asked if he was looking good.  He told me he always thought I was hot, hadn’t noticed that I lost weight, thought I was attractive when I met him (when I was fat).  Aww, that’s so sweet, I’m going to take him home with me.  Which gets me thinking, if I have overnight company, how am I going to get rid of him early enough to get to the gym?  Big red flag going up here, I don’t like this.  This is not balanced.  I will probably always prioritize exercise, but I’m not pleased that I would do it to the exclusion of everything else.  Including relationships, or even just sex (not that I even remember what that’s like) working, getting a real life.  Though, to give myself credit,  besides exercising like a insane ball of nerves with a nic fit who can’t sleep more than 5 hours/night, I also cleaned my entire apartment, for the first time since I moved here 5 months ago.    I’m a horrible slob sometimes, it seems a self-defense mechanism like my overeating was, a way to keep people away.  I need to bring people near.  So maybe I am making progress, and should rethink this.

My weight has not gone up from quitting ciggies, though it isn’t dropping as quickly as it should be.  I think, besides the exercise, not bingeing, and eating reasonable portions, one of the reasons for my weight loss success to date has been calorie density, as in minimizing calorie dense foods, maximizing whole foods, etc.  I’m always eating fruits and veggies, but in time, the amount of processed grains, cheese, meat creep up in my diet.  And then, occasionally, I notice my eating, and it’s too convenient, lazy, processed, heavy.  So I’m going to get back to eating more lentil soup, less pizza.  This last 20 pounds I’ve decided I want to lose is likely to take some effort.  I haven’t been this weight since 9th grade, let alone smaller.  Wish me luck!

The sun is out for the first time in about 2 weeks, I need to go make some Vitamin D while I can.  And then I’ll go to the gym.  Tomorrow I’ll think about balance, hopefully there’ll be more sun.

**I think much of my heavy eating is because I exercise a LOT and don’t want to deal with eating so much-thus, maybe if I exercise less (as in maybe just an hour a day), I don’t have to eat so much/so heavy.

13 Responses to “Eat less, exercise less”


  1. January 27, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    There is so much about your approach (aside from the smoking) that reminds me of how I lost weight when I was in my junior and senior years of college. I also exercised a lot and had a completely healthy diet. I never learned any balance or how to allow certain types of food into my diet in moderation. I wouldn’t say that’s a mistake, but I think not learning to balance things better was a big one that I paid for later when I didn’t have the luxury of exercising as much or eating whatever I wanted.

    It seems that you’re figuring it out rather than finding an unbalanced successful method and sticking to it. Good for you!

  2. January 27, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    you exercise more than an hour every day? sex burns calories too, you know! what happened to that nice guy?

    i am so over-tired and jet-lagged at the moment, so forgive me if i’m addle-brained. did you say you wanted to lose 20 pounds. haven’t you just hit your goal weight?

    it sounds like you take good care of yourself, and it’s a long, hard path. AND giving up cigarettes!!!!!

    i wonder if you could take a breath and let yourself be. losing weight AND giving up cigarettes is a lot.

    what do you think?

  3. January 28, 2010 at 7:29 am

    Screaming Fat Girl – Thanks for commenting. I’m not too interested in eating so healthy, not trying for clean eating. I think I do well enough, just sometimes life gets inconvenient or stressful, and I eat a lot of grocery store prepared (too poor for restaurant) food, and it’s generally higher fat, salt, lower nutrition than what I prep at home. My eating is okay, the rest of my life needs some balance.

    Melissa – I hit my original goal weight, but I am still chubby. I realize it’s just about looks at this point, but I would like to look toned, not flabby. Even now, my muscles are almost showing under my rolls. Yes, I exercise too much, and that’s why I eat so heavy, and it’s not necessary. No, I haven’t taken that guy home yet, I live in the wrong town, and it was a weekday, maybe Saturday. I live in a shack, I need to date a guy who lives somewhere nicer, hang at his place.

  4. January 28, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    it’s so easy to just slide right into too much of the prepared stuff. Then again, I wonder if our definitions of “too much” has changed over the past little while? 🙂 Anyway, good for you for paying attention and noticing the trend!

  5. January 29, 2010 at 10:57 am

    It’s so hard to find a balance, sounds like you are on the right path.

  6. January 30, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Keep it up and invite an overnight guest without worry. Let him know that you like to exercise in the morning and would he be interested in joining you? I wish some of your exercise obsession would rub off on me. I haven’t gotten my stuff together since New Years.

  7. February 1, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Cammy – You’re probably right, if I was working, and earning money, I wouldn’t be so irritated about the not cooking, but would have to watch that scale.

    Robin – Thanks for stopping by, I’m definitely trying.

    Bobbie – I could never go to the gym with a bf. It’s funny, I would give up coffee before I gave up exercise – I am so hooked (not that I believe it’s addictive, though will have to think on that one)

  8. February 2, 2010 at 5:38 am

    Hi, thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment.

    I’m always so happy when someone tells me they gave up smoking. I lost my father to lung cancer and my brother is currently at Stage 4 with the same condition. I try not to get in people’s faces about it, but I do try to encourage people to stop by telling them my Dad’s story.

    I think it’s great that you are not just giving up the cigarettes, but also making other positive steps. I’ve never been a smoker, but my mom said it helped her to stay really busy after she quit. She said after meals was her most difficult time of the day.

    I wish you all the luck in the world.

  9. February 2, 2010 at 7:30 am

    glad to see you finding ways to curb your hunger as well as your nic fits… keep up the great work!!

  10. February 2, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Two weeks w/o cigs…that is wonderful. Congratulations.

    BODA weight loss

  11. February 2, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    I can only imagine how hard it is, but I’m really happy for you. You are right about the balance needing to be there.

    You are doing fabulous!!

  12. February 2, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    Karen – It never meant anything to me that anybody died from smoking- both of my grandparents did. It’s an awful way to die, but we’re all going to die from something. It was my quality of life now that did it. Also, it ages the skin (yes, I’m all kinds of vain). Very sorry about your dad and now brother.

    Cher, Stephanie, Diane – Thanks for your encouragement. I need all the help I can get these days.

  13. 13 prashant
    February 8, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    I think it’s great that you are not just giving up the cigarettes, but also making other positive steps.
    Grow Taller 4 Idiots


Leave a Reply

Pages

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

