19
Dec
10

Not much to say

Life is going okay.   Still working, dating, exercising, eating.    I don’t really feel like I have much to say about weight these days.  I started tracking my weight, and I’ve gained 2 pounds in the last 3 months.  I haven’t lost weight in almost a year, since I quit smoking.   I think that really sucks.  But I enjoy my gym, even if I’m the fattest one there at size 10.    I’m most interested in fixing myself psychologically, which is very different than losing weight.

Maybe I’ll feel like writing more soon.  I’m off to Argentina in a few days.  Oh, and that laundromat that gives me the creeps had a drive-by a month or so back, 8:45 a.m!   One dead, one injured.  I wonder if sugar was illegal, would people be killing each other for it?   Something to think about for those of you who think sugar = crack/heroin/meth.

3 Responses to “Not much to say”


  1. December 20, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    After awhile, fixing yourself psychologically means not talking about weight loss/maintenance anymore. After awhile, it has to go to the back of your mind while you work with other things. Personally, I see this as a good thing and am experiencing it as well.

    Good luck to you. The push to deal with mental obstacles is often harder than actually losing weight (which is generally a mechanistic process which is encumbered by psychology rather than a complex situation in and of itself).

  2. December 20, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Ooh, Argentina! Pictures, please. (And wishes for a safe journey!)

    Interesting thoughts about the sugar. Personally, I don’t have an issue with it in the proper quantities, but there’s so much hue and cry over it that I wonder if bags of white sugar came with a big skull and crossbones and a warning from the Surgeon General, if people would still buy it.

  3. December 22, 2010 at 6:33 am

    Hi SFG, if only it were like that. It’s better than it used to be, but I still feel fat, and though I try not to talk about it, it oozes out the cracks sometimes. Much better than it used to be, and I appreciate more sanity. This may be as good as I will ever get, my family is super-weight obsessed. That would take more psychological fixing than I can likely do. But you’re right, I think, long term maintenance for me looks different than weight loss, and though I’ve pretty much lost the weight, I have a lot of mind-fixing still to be done.

    Cammy – Hasn’t stopped too many from buying cigarettes, has it? Personally, I don’t think white sugar is dangerous enough to qualify for warning labels, though some of the shit they put it into just might. Problem seems to be that too many eat too much of it, and it crowds out healthy stuff and causes imbalances. It tastes good, so is easy to abuse.


Leave a Reply

Pages

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

