05
Jul
11

Pool parties!

A terrifying concept, at least for all of my adult years.  But I went to two this weekend, even had a bathing suit that fit, it was fine.   This was an accomplishment for me, a bit scary, but it really was okay.  I still put on a sundress if I’m out of the pool for a while, but it’s better than the long t-shirt that I used to wear as a teenager.  Most of my adult life I’ve lived in San Francisco, which is not swimming-friendly, but an hour in any direction can get very hot.  I overate, as I always tend to do, when there’s tasty not-so-healthy food around and I am drinking.  I’ve learned to accept this as my reality, and rather than fight it, I just yield to it, try not to overdo it, and compensate by eating a bit more cautiously before and after.  It wasn’t all that bad, being that there were no sweets- at all!  What’s WRONG with these people.   My digestive system is tired, as is the rest of me. Tonight it’ll be a salad (mostly from my garden), cottage cheese, and ear of corn, which doesn’t sound awesome, but is.   I like simple meals on hot evenings.  When it gets cool enough, I’ll make some roasted roots and ham and collards to eat for lunch for the rest of the week.

Hope everyone had a great holiday (4th of July, or Canada Day, or whatever you may or may not celebrate).

6 Responses to “Pool parties!”


  1. July 7, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Hey, that dinner sounds TOTALLY awesome. (Well. Except for the cottage cheese, which I’ve hated since I was a small child. Yeecccchhh. But I’ll take the salad and corn!) (Do you ever eat raw sweet corn off the cob? AMAZING.)

    I’m jealous of the bathing suit bit. I’ve gained so much weight with the Intuitive Eating (normal for some people, I know, and I know that it will eventually likely come off, but STILL) that my insecurity is off the charts. I foresee zero swimming in my future this summer . . . *sigh*

  2. July 11, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Hi Marste

    Nice to hear from you! I don’t digest raw corn very well, otherwise I would eat it. As for gaining weight on IE… I hear it’s common. It took a lot of head work about food to get rid of (or at least subdue) some major neurosis regarding that, before I could do IE comfortably. Even still, I skipped that part about getting used to problem food. Potato chips and ice cream will maintain their status of things that I don’t keep in my house. Honestly, cocaine would be a problem, and ciggies, brownies, and many other things that I’m okay with not being at peace with. I gained a bunch of weight first time I tried to do it by the book, it’s too hard for me to lose. Good enough is good enough.

    Hope you get a chance to swim, maybe it’s warm enough there. This is looking to be a cold, drizzly summer up here.

  3. July 12, 2011 at 7:09 am

    HaHa!! Pool parties are a way of life down here! I usually find stuff that’s OK. I never did understand the pools in San Francisco. Must be a status thing.

  4. July 14, 2011 at 11:05 am

    I have never in my adult life worn a swimsuit with a t-shirt over it. I have a long torso, so most one pieces don’t fit me so I have to buy two pieces and I am just so UNCOMFORTABLE. Thank you for being brave enough. 🙂
    -Sarah

  5. July 14, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Good for you on doing the bathing suit and feeling good in it. I tend to be the opposite and eat very little at social events. Then, I eat at home. I don’t know why!

  6. July 18, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Dr. J – There are very few private pools in SF, I remember one apt building that had one, but it’s rarely swimming weather, real estate is way too valuable, and heating bills would be outrageous. When I had a broken leg, I had to swim in a “solar heated” public pool, and it was brutal.

    Sarah – Welcome! Last year I wore cute swim shorts and a reinforced tank top, I liked those better than bathing suits, and I think they look better. Now, since I managed to find one, I now wear it. I couldn’t pull off a bikini, way too much tummy.

    Diane – I usually chalk up that stuff to leftover food issues, none of us can ever rid all of the skeletons in our closets. I could write a few blog posts just about mine!


Leave a Reply

Pages

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

