25
Sep
11

Caveman eating goes mainstream!

A new type of food is not quite trendy yet, but starting to show up.  A Mission taqueria gets busted, has to use only American crickets in its tacos from now on.  An upscale restaurant in Sausalito has a multicourse dinner pairing “finely sourced and exquisitely cooked edible bugs” with a tequila tasting.  Mealworm stirfries, moth larvae tacos, chili and garlic locusts, chocolate covered scorpions.    This is likely closer to what cavemen ate,  not corn-fed CAFO-raised cheap muscle meat wrapped in styrofoam and plastic, with a vegetable thrown in here and there.    Some claim the fruit is different, didn’t used to be sweet, that’s been intentionally bred in by us. Likely, similar to how cows were domesticated from wild ox 8 to 10,000 years ago.  Fruit is sweeter, vegetables less bitter, animals selectively bred from the original, wild animals, to things such freaks of nature (or human selective breeding) as the commonly eaten turkey.      But, I don’t pretend to know what our ancestors ate, as I am no anthropologist, nor are most of the people who claim to know what “grok” ate, which in their romanticized version, contained little starch, no grain, little fruit, small amounts of vegetables.  I doubt it, they likely ate roots and all the fruit they could find.  And insects.  Grubs.  And the ones who couldn’t get fruits/veggies, got to eat nice things like eyeballs for vitamin C, like the Inuit, who many use to show that there’s no need for plant food.  There’s a taqueria open late near my old house that sells eyeball tacos.  OK, paleos, get sustainable, get real.  Insects and eyeballs.  Or else, just admit that you’re biased and believing in “paleo” because you like meat, okay?  Geez.

And no, I’m not a part of any vegan conspiracy.  I’m not even vegetarian.  I’m not into low-fat.  I don’t eat tons of processed carbs.  There’s a whole spectra between these groups, not everyone falls into such strict categories.  Why does everyone want to be so bloody extreme?

tarantula quiche?

10 Responses to “Caveman eating goes mainstream!”


  1. September 26, 2011 at 10:32 am

    LOL! I wonder if Grok laughed a lot? I’m guessing not.

    I am far from a paleo style eater. I think you know I go with whole foods, lots of raw, get fat from natural whole foods, mostly vegan with seafood as the only meat or meat derived product I eat.

    I think, as with the Inuit, humans can adapt to most foods and eating styles to some extent for survival, but some are better than others, just like opinions 🙂

  2. September 26, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    You know, I could’ve gone a lifetime without seeing that tarantula.

    Extremists of any sort annoy me profoundly. In this case, I’m reminded of the progression of the Amish over the years. Each generation of elders allows something “new” into their lives, usually something that was popular when the elders were youngsters–like roller skates and bicycles.

  3. September 27, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    I’m not an anthropologist myself but using a simple logic, there is no single “paleo diet” because our ancestors ate what’s available depending on the geographical location.

    People who are constantly buying organic foods only/ meats from whole foods stores can never be paleo unless they give up their homes, modern medicines, technology, etc.

  4. October 2, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    I agree with Only the Brave. So much of that would have been dependent on the locale, etc. I’m not much of a fan of paleo diets or any other very specific diet. I just eat relatively low fat, low calories and lots of exercise!

    • October 2, 2011 at 6:55 pm

      Honestly, paleo diet can actually be a healthy diet in the context of basing the bulk of a diet based on whole foods. However, it’s dark side lies on discriminating certain type/s of foods without defining the dose or context.

  5. October 8, 2011 at 5:00 am

    Dr J – I think vegan + fish is likely the healthiest diet, but I love cheese and bacon too much, so I’m going with healthy enough. 🙂

    Cammy – Sorry about the picture, I think we’re getting more extreme everywhere – nutrition, politics, lifestyle, kinda scary.

    OTB – I would like to see some of these paleo people give up their cars, and ovens. Ride a bike, cook meat that they’ve killed, cleaned themselves over an open pit in the back yard. I dislike Whole Foods, and the whole aura of “la vida pura” that they try to emulate. I think a whole food (not the store) diet can be very healthy, but these paleos keep hating on beans, for reasons I think are bogus, and I love me some beans!

    Diane – I totally admire the way you’ve lost it and kept it off without giving in to the fad of the day, or latest trend, and don’t appear to be suffering for it. You’re the best example out there (at least that I know of)!

    • October 8, 2011 at 11:29 pm

      Paleo/ naturalists are like the modern hippies of food culture. It’s more like a fashion trend rather than a lifestyle. I’m not really into any diet that discriminates any food types without defining it’s context of application.

  6. 8 La.
    October 13, 2011 at 6:54 am

    I feel like every blog I read those who are embracing ideas from the Paleo Diet also end up doing Cross Fit. Both extremes! If being Paleo means I have to embrace bug burritos…um NO! 😉

    • October 17, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      I’m not quite sure what Cross Fit is, is it the same as PX-90? I see people outside doing an exercise class of some sort when I bike to work in the morning (brrrr, cold), I’m under the impression that it’s Cross Fit, but maybe it’s some kind of boot camp. People like extremes, even people who know better just accept that that’s the way they are.

  7. November 9, 2011 at 4:06 am

    GAAAAH!! Spider food??? Spider food!!! Holy hell…


Leave a Reply

Pages

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

