18
Mar
10

A Week away from the Gym

I was just so tired.  I tweaked my back, though not in gym, and it hurt.  I took off between Saturdays, let myself recover, rest, heal.  I walked and rode my bike, as I generally do anyway.  I stayed out of my car, always liberating.  I anxiously awaited my period, more than two weeks late.  I fought off a UTI with cranberry juice, and worked in my garden.

I have a new man in my life, I have been thoroughly enjoying his company.  I didn’t know they came nice like that, even though it’s going nowhere long term, he is so fun.  He was a fat kid, adopted by Danish parents who fed him heavy and meaty and way too much.  When he started living on his own at 15, he lost it quickly.   One of the things I like most about him, is that he eats whatever I feed him, and loves it.  He doesn’t complain about the lack of pork.  He doesn’t complain about the presence of pork.  He even eats steamed broccoli, and we both eat garlicky hummous, then smooch and giggle.  He tells me about the healthy poops he has after hanging out with me, and I have to laugh.  I don’t know what he eats at home, I asked him once, he mumbled something about Whole Foods takeout.  I think his tattoos are sexy, he thinks my lack of them is sexier.   We ride bikes around, he keeps right up with me, it’s so much fun.  He is intimidated by me, thinks he needs to start lifting weights, he is gardener, bicyclist, but does no upper body stuff.  He’s got a bit of a belly, we’re about equally pudgy.   He likes my “biker body”, even though I tell him it’s from the gym, not bikes.

Last Saturday, and for a week or three before, the scale always read 147.  After a week off, it read 152.  Kinda high, but not unusual for TOM, salt retention.  Monday, Tuesday also said the same thing.  Did I gain 5 pounds in my week off gym?  Realistically, how many calories did I not burn off, probably between 1000 – 2000, between maybe 2-3 days of gym that I skipped?   1/2 pound worth, if you consider this to be mathematically correct?  I didn’t eat more, I actually ate less (glad to know that this hunger stuff works).  My appetite is very sluggish with just my “lifestyle” (transporting myself) exercise.  I panicked anyway, actually bought low-fat cream cheese, low-fat yogurt.  Then I thought about it, decided that no way was it weight, it had to still be water, from two-week late period, and salt.   My diety reaction disturbs, disappoints me.

Whatever it was, instead of being one pound below my BMI = 25 marker (148), I was now 4 pounds above.  The next day, same scale, I was only 1.5 pounds above.   I expect it’ll all be gone by Saturday, hopefully with a pound or two more.   I noticed a huge NSV the other day.  I can carry bicycle, with stuff in panniers, up the Bart steps quite easily.  It used to wipe me out, some of those train stops are 6 flights below ground, and though I’ll take escalator part way if I think they won’t see me and yell, the elevator often smells too much like pee-pee, I won’t use it.  Just the bike alone used to be a problem, if the bike was carrying any weight, or was for some reason off balance, I would have to rest every flight.  Now I just pick it up with one hand, balance it with the other.  Almost effortless, hooray for strength and endurance.

Life is easier at my smaller size, and I like being strong.  It’s hard to know how much of this is from being smaller, and how much from being stronger, but life is better this way.

More random pictures from around town.

Almost spring, Santa Claus season for SF

My Bart station, weekend drummers


12 Responses to “A Week away from the Gym”


  1. March 18, 2010 at 6:57 am

    You sound different. I like this new voice. About being strong… we work out and know that things are happening and changing, but it takes something like carrying your bicycle with ease to realize that your body has actually changed. I love that feeling.

  2. 2 Dr, j
    March 18, 2010 at 9:18 am

    That all sounds really great Julie, except the two weeks late part. I warned you about being careful what you asked for 🙂 I’m sure you will handle it all! Actually a little “panic” is OK with a 5 poound gain. I’m so glad you have made all the strides you have with your life!

  3. March 18, 2010 at 10:55 am

    I love that non-scale victory with carrying the bike! That’s awesome. So glad you have a guy in your life that you are enjoying being with. I wish you the best!

    I too have a 3 – 5 pound “floating” range that I allow myself to stay within.

  4. March 18, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I have to say, I love the tone of this blog! very positive and uplifting, and it’s so great that you found someone that is open to, enjoys and supports you in your journey!

    keep up the great work darlin!!! *hugs*

  5. March 18, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I only had to carry my bike up one level on the ferry from Sausalito, and I was worn out. Oh wait, I was carrying two bikes. 🙂

    So happy you’ve found a good guy. He sounds like someone fun to spend time with!

  6. March 18, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    I think our bodies tend to “overreact” when there is a change in routine and start storing energy more rapidly (energy that your body is accustomed to having your burn off). I think if you didn’t overeat and you didn’t exercise for a month, the weight you gain from a short-term change in lifestyle (if you actually did gain weight, you may not have) would disappear.

    I don’t think the body is a calculator, but I do think that people can eat modestly (around 2000 calories) and not exercise especially and maintain a healthy weight. I have seen far too many thin people who do not exercise at all to believe otherwise.

  7. March 22, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Bobbie – Yeah, it was kinda awesome to realize how easy it had become.

    Dr. J – Sometimes, we get what we need?

    Diane – I regularly range 5 pounds in a week, only panic when it stays up there.

    Cher – Thanks, I’m enjoying it!

    Cammy – I can’t carry a bike with my left arm well, the balance is difficult for me. I’m impressed that you carried two!

    SFG – I think we’re more hormonally involved to be just calories in/out, but I’m not sure that I will ever be one of those people who can eat 2000 kcal/day and not exercise, and not drift up. It seems to be different for previously obese, though we’re all individuals. I wouldn’t ever want to not exercise, hopefully it won’t ever come down to that.

  8. March 23, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    As I was reading about the new man, all I could think was, “THAT is a healthy relationship”.

    And not just with him, either. With yourself, too.

  9. April 4, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    here’s a weird question that popped into my head each time i read this post — why can’t the relationship go anywhere? is that too personal? that point just stuck out to me. i can’t help myself but ask.

    hope everything’s good. i, too, will NEVER be able to eat 2000 or so calories a day, not exercise, AND stay slim. your healthy approach beats mine by a million miles. i just tend to pout

  10. April 5, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    He’s starting to get curious about that, too. I guess I’d better clear up my thinking here.

    I did my share of pouting, and being pissy about how unfair my metabolism is. But I don’t really have it that bad.


Leave a comment


Pages

March 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031